Swedish Oatmeal Lace Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Oh my freaking goodness! You need to be on the ball with the cook time, as 30 seconds in either direction will make or break the texture/flavor combination, but these things are INSANE! I gave one to a Swedish colleague and he said they were "just like my mother used to make". That was all the praise this recipe needs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Doubled recipe & added 1/2 tsp of cinnamon. Used non-stick foil on trays. Cookies VERY oily when cooling. Lined cooling racks with paper towels to absorb excess oil. Tasty & crisp! May try with brown sugar next time to see if they take on a more caramel flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
This is a quick simple recipe. I loved it but I think I may add some vanilla and a dash of cinnamon maybe. I also used half and half. Anyway, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Morgan Hill, California, USA
Living In: Capitola, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
These sounded too easy, so had to try them. Taste was very good. Very fragile! Would be nice for special occasions dipped in chocolate, sugar or whatever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Not for the novice baker, though, if you intend to curl them. They're delicious, but need to be handled VERY gently, especially if you're trying to curl/curve them. I just now made them, and I bake LOTS, and didn't have an easy time with getting them off the prepared pan or getting them curled on to a rolling pin or glass. If I try them again, I would just let them cool FLAT, and just be cookies, rather than rolled around anything. And I'm Swedish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I was trying find a pepperidge farm Brussels cookie knock off and I found it!! All I did to this cookie was dip the bottom in melted dark chocolate...Ah ma zing!!!! (FYI I baked them on Reynolds Wrap new non stick foil came right off no need grease the pan!! Gourmet cookies at a drop of hat!! THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Delicious, very buttery. Daughter and I worked together, forming over or inside small bowls to make bowls out of the cookies, which we had made on the larger side. Later we served ice cream in them, with peach & raspberry compote on top. It made a delicious dessert with great presentation. I have also made these previously using brown sugar, also delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roz147

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotsgirl
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Absolutely amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
This one is a treasure, tried it for the first time tonight, and crunchy and great as is, but am planning to try some variations like adding a bit of ground nuts such as hazelnuts or pecans, almonds, pistachios, or walnuts, etc., or even a bit of finely shredded coconut. With the ground hazelnuts it could be heaven to sandwich 2 with Nutella in the middle! Or dipped in chocolate as some others suggested...dusted with cinammon, cocoa powder, what ever seems good to you...all kinds of possibilities to play with! Some additions may change the consistancy somewhat, will have to experiment to find out, but when I do, I'll report in. Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharGC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lehigh Acres, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by miskyn
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
These were great, I added some almod flavor and a bit of ground almond, they wouldn't bend very nice after that but they were still awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miskyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Millet, Alberta, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States