Swedish Oatmeal Lace Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
A great and easy recipe. Be careful not to use more than rounded tsp and leave a lot of room (5" or so) on the cookie sheet since they really spread out. This recipe works best when cookie sheet also pre-heated and very lightly greased or sprayed. Can leave on the cookie sheet while you're curling them so others won't harden before you curl. Powdered sugar (after cooling) is a nice touch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
This one is a treasure, tried it for the first time tonight, and crunchy and great as is, but am planning to try some variations like adding a bit of ground nuts such as hazelnuts or pecans, almonds, pistachios, or walnuts, etc., or even a bit of finely shredded coconut. With the ground hazelnuts it could be heaven to sandwich 2 with Nutella in the middle! Or dipped in chocolate as some others suggested...dusted with cinammon, cocoa powder, what ever seems good to you...all kinds of possibilities to play with! Some additions may change the consistancy somewhat, will have to experiment to find out, but when I do, I'll report in. Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharGC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lehigh Acres, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
Very easy to make. An alternative is to make them double with chocolate as "glue" and serve with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Visby, Gotlands, Sweden
Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I was trying find a pepperidge farm Brussels cookie knock off and I found it!! All I did to this cookie was dip the bottom in melted dark chocolate...Ah ma zing!!!! (FYI I baked them on Reynolds Wrap new non stick foil came right off no need grease the pan!! Gourmet cookies at a drop of hat!! THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
Mmmm, these are great! I've been looking for a recipe like this for a long time. I'd had them once before, but couldn't remember exactly what they were called. I kept coming up with almond lace cookies, but then I came across this recipe. BINGO! Exactly what I was looking for. These are not only pretty to serve, they're a tasty treat too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
Easy to make. Found that 350 for oven temp. worked better, less burning(4-5 min.). Cookie can be used as cone or wafer for great fillings or just drizzle chocolate over. Wonderful possibilities with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
These were a hit recently - very pretty and delicate, tastey too! A bit time-consuming to prepare since you only get five on a cookie sheet at a time, but worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blondy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
I just baked these cookies a few minutes ago. I just tried one and it was SO DELICIOUS!!! I think I'll take another reviewers advice and eat another with chocolate and ice cream. At first I tought these would just be like normal oatmeal cookies; I was really surprised to see flat, crispy wafers when they came out, but, now that I've tried them, they're even better than oatmeal cookies! Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotsgirl
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Absolutely amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by miskyn
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
These were great, I added some almod flavor and a bit of ground almond, they wouldn't bend very nice after that but they were still awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miskyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Millet, Alberta, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States