Swedish Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Delicious. we didn't make meatballs, but made it into a meat gravy. excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I thought this was very good as written, the four stars are for the recipe before additions. I had some missgivings about the meat holding it's shape so I added another 1/4 cup of bread crumbs. I also added a little more beef flavour with some extra OXO. Great with noodles on a cold day :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I tried this recipe tonight and was a little disappointed. The hamburger didn't hold together well even when I added an egg. I would use 1 chicken bullion and 1 beef boulion. It tasted awfully salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Delicious! I doubled the recipe so that my wife and I could each have a 14-serving portion. Wonderful sauce. I added fresh dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
TOO MUCH MILK! I made these accordingly and it turned out way too soft and mushy in the center. I know that they're supposed to be soft (I love Swedish Meatballs) but it was too mushy. I was already hesitant when I saw that 2/3 cups of evap milk was needed for only 1 lb of ground meat so I only added 1/2 cup and it was still too much milk. I checked out other Swedish Meatballs recipes online and many others recommend 1/4 cups of milk for 1 lb of meat. If you like extremely soft and mushy in the center meatballs, then you're in luck! If not, use less milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I'm also 1/2 Swedish and since didn't have one from my late mom when seeing this one from Iowa - Swedish girl knew it would be good. Quite the hit with the family just making minor changes/addition in using some Ground Veal with the Grou nd Beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I thought these were okay. The only change I made was using lean beef and ff evaporated milk. I thought the spice was a little strong. I ate a few when it was warm but not the leftovers. No one else complained. I might just like a less spicy meatball and a red or brown gravy. But, it tasted pretty close to what I know as a Swedish meatball, anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
What a great recipe! I have made these meatballs many times and my family loves them. I take a major short cut and use trader joes turkey meatballs - regular size and party size. I always have a bag in the fridge and a can of condensed milk in the pantry for a quick meal. I have topped mashed potatoes, egg noodles and pasta. The only change I made is that I use 2 tablespoons to cook the meatballs before adding the beef broth. Everything else I follow as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Made no changes. Good flavor. Meatballs fall apart very easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
I used nonfat condensed milk. Noah really likes this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States