Swedish Meatballs (Svenska Kottbullar) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I tripled the recipe thinking it sounded wonderful and that we would have some left overs to freeze or take for lunches. WRONG not even a single meatball left and as for the gravy well there is about a tablespoon left. This was delicious and we will make again and again. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marine City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Taylor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
I usually hate it when when people rate recipes that they don't follow, but I'm guilty this time. I skipped the meatballs and used beef stew meat. Browned it off and threw it in the crockpot with all of your spices (including the optionals). When the meat was tender, I thickend the sauce, added the sour cream and served over fresh pasta. Absolutely delicious! I guess my version could be called Swedish stroganoff? Very good recipe. I will make the meat balls next time to honor your family tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
Very Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Really good recipe...my family and friends all enjoy, even my fiancé who doesn't even typically like Swedish meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spcordell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Delish! I used regular milk instead of cream, and I left out the sour cream, and they were still fantastic. I also used 1 cup panko breadcrumbs, as I don't usually have white bread in my house. My mother used a package mix to make these when I was young, and the spices are right on, but this is much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rocklin, California, USA
Living In: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
This is the real thing. You can adjust spices and serving options to your own tastes,however, as a base recipe this one is as good as it gets. I have not tasted better and it reminds me of my days as a child. Congrats, you nailed this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
These meatballs are so tasty and moist, they are wonderful and I strongly suggest using the optional seasonings, it really adds to the flavor. This is the best Swedish Meatball recipe I have tried. I will use these meatballs in other dishes as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
oh my yummy yum yum! I also made these with ground turkey, cut the nutmeg in half. They melted in your mouth. I didnt have beef broth so I used chicken broth and added 1/4 cup heavy creme to the gravy. Then when the balls were done, I put them directly into the gravy. right before serving, I folded in the sour creme. served over egg noodles they were divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackifry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
These were so good. almost like Ikea Swedish meatballs. Forgot the sour cream, but it still was good. Made a large amount of gravy which I liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Ione, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Making the meatballs is labor intensive, but so much better than the Costco variety. I made extra meatballs and froze the leftovers. For another meal, I made mushroom gravy. I sautéed 6 oz sliced mushrooms in 2 Tablespoons butter for about 3-4 minutes over med-med/high heat. The heat should be high enough to make the mushrooms expel their liquid, but not burn. I added 1 Tablespoon flour, and cooked on low for a minute or two. I added 1/2-3/4 cup chicken broth instead of beef broth (which I didn't have) to form a roux. I cooked this on low, allowing it to thicken, then seasoned it with salt and pepper to taste, 1/8 tsp paprika and 1/8 tsp allspice. I added the meatballs 1/4 cup sour cream and let this simmer for just a few minutes. I served it with ligonberry sauce over spaetzle. My husband LOVED it this way! He didn't care for it the first time around with the simpler beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeSkiVa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States