Swedish Meatballs (Svenska Kottbullar) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by shellina
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Followed everything except used a meatloaf mix (pork, beef, lamb) served with mashed potatoes done old school with a potato ricer. Very delish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I thought the sauce would be thicker, creamier and more beefy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Collins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Delicious! The Entire Family Loved This Recipe! Only Change Was That I used All Beef Because That's What I Had On Hand . . . Can't Wait To Make This Again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Hubs and I really enjoyed this tonight but I have to agree with the "most helpful" reviewer - this was a tad too "sour creamy," so if I had it to do over again, I, too, would like a meatier gravy and reduce the amount of sour cream. Also, looking at the mix of ingredients it seemed to me that it would produce a really "wet" mixture. I decided to hold off adding the chicken broth and I'm glad I did as the texture and consistency was just right without it. Had I used it, I'm afraid it might have been too loose, making it more difficult to form the meatballs. I did add the optional ginger. Glad I did that too. I formed the mixture into approximately 1" meatballs, and these required only about 18 minutes in the oven at 400 degrees. I used butter in place of the drippings for the roux. The sour cream was different for me - I generally use heavy cream. Wasn't sure I would like it as much, but not to worry, other than there being a little too much of it, we liked it nearly as well as we do when made with cream. All and all, a good recipe - just needs some tweaking, I think, to perfect it to suit individual tastes and preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
This recipe was fantastic! I used only beef and used garlic salt instead of regular. I didn't have allspice so I used cloves instead. I also used all chicken broth, added a small pinch of nutmeg and ground cayenne to the gravy, 4 TBS flour and only a few tablespoons of sour cream. I am so pleasantly surprised that these turned out so delicious! Definitely will be making these for an upcoming Halloween party! Thank you so much NomNomNom for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 5mnmjr
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Loved this recipe! I thought it tasted like the ones I remember having at St. Olaf College during Christmas Fest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
This dish is very good. I made it exactly as written except my meat came out to be 1.10 lb, and it yielded 20 meatballs. I think next time i will up the spices a little, as others have mentioned. I enjoyed the flavor, but I personally would like to take it up a notch. I also will brown the meatballs a little longer than 5 mins. as I felt like they were so tender, they could easily fall apart when tossing with noodles. I served it over a 12oz. bag of egg noodles, and the sauce came out to be the perfect amount for that. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
These were delicious! I put them on top of egg noodles and doubled the gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Belleville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Great recipe! It's my first time making meatballs and I have learned I need to cut off the crusts of the sliced bread. I used regular milk to soak the bread and it was fine. Definitely fry the meatballs in a non-stick skillet or it won't stay together. The drippings from the baking dish are magnificent for gravy, I added a little milk (Lactaid) after adding the flour and beef broth instead of the sour cream for my lactose intolerant partner, but I think sour cream would have tasted more authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
This is by far one of the tastiest versions I've had of swedish meatballs. I wouldn't change a thing! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scarlett Gransberg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Dupont, Washington, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States