Swedish Meatballs (Svenska Kottbullar) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
These were very good. Well worth the time and effort put into them. I did not have allspice on hand so I added a little cinnamon instead to the nutmeg and they were very good. I did not have beef broth-- used chicken instead and still delicious. I like it when recipes like this can be flexible. My family loved it! Thanks for your authentic recipe! I asked a real Swede for her recipe and I knew it was not real when it had cream of mushroom soup in it. This is the REAL DEAL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
The best meatballs ever. I have been looking for a recipe for Swedish meatballs for a long time and now my search is over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I LOVE meatballs. This is a great recipe for authentic Swedish meatballs. I made one change though. We don't eat ground beef in my house so I used ground bison. The bison gave these meatballs a more robust flavor which the sauce accented very nicely. We have a saying in my house whenever I try a new recipe on my family... " that's a keeper". And this recipe is truly a keeper. Thanks !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Very good. Followed the recipe as recommended. The only thing I did different was I did not add the brown sugar. My son came back the next night to see if I had any leftovers. A couple of meatballs left for him to nosh on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I've made these twice now, once exactly as written, and I'm thinking it still needs tweaking. I left out the onions altogether the second time, and I added some allspice to the sauce, but it still isn't quite what I'd like it to be. I do think I added too much salt to the sauce though... I used angel hair pasta as well, and I do like that. Egg noodles makes it too much like stroganoff for me (what with the sour cream in the sauce). I keep wondering if heavy cream would be a better replacement for the sour cream? I think the spices might need upped as well - they are really delicious with the beef/pork blend (and I just made them 1/2 pound each). I intend to keep playing with this recipe until I get it right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Amazing, made exactly as said on recipe except didnt have day old white bread, used french bread slices instead. Alsosweet italian sausage. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olney, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I rarely write reviews for anything, but this one was just too good not to rate. It turned out perfect. I served them over egg noodles to make more of a meal of it. The only change next time is I'll make a double batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Very good. Everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
this is the best!! my husband loves this dish and he isn't easy to please!!! it is worth the time and effort,and im making this recipe my go to for perfect swedish meatballs. it takes me back to my childhood in minnesota!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Meatballs were outstanding, gravy was not so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States