Swedish Meatballs (Svenska Kottbullar) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
This was delicious! I actually stuck pretty close to the recipe, which is unusual for me. The only changes I made were to use whole milk instead of cream and pre-made caramelized onions instead of cooking a minced onion. The meatballs turned out a bit wet; I had to squeeze out the excess moisture before frying. I also needed more than 1 Tbsp of butter to brown them. Next time I'll reduce the milk/cream to 1/4 cup and I think it'll be perfect. I served this with half a bag of egg noodles and the proportions were right on. Definitely a keeper! Oh, and I used all of the optional ingredients. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
This is a great recipe and really easy to make. Even the gravy is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Love this recipe and I've been using it for a while now! I was wary of the spices at first but now I'd never make this without them. I use a bit less sour cream because I found it too strong the first time around. I also find the baking instruction to be pretty flexible. If I don't have the time, I just pour the chicken or beef broth in the pan, cover it and let them finish cooking. Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Awesome just as recipe states
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I did not like the meatballs. They were to soft. I could barely keep them together as they were sauteing, plus I thought they were bland. The sauce was pretty good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Excellent meatballs, very moist and flavorful. I made these just like the recipe stated except I put the meatballs in the crockpot instead of the oven. I let them cook for about 3 hours and they were perfect. I was suspicious of using the spices (allspice and nutmeg) that the recipe called for but I didn't notice them later. I served it over egg noodles. Most delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Russellville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Florence, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
It was marvelous swedish meatballs. I was surprised on how tasty the meatballs. My son was crazy about this. We ate it with mashed potatoes once, and with rice. Both were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
My grandparents are from sweden and I make it this way all the time, except I make it with 1lb beef n 1/2 lb pork, it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Awesome! Definitely the best Swedish meatballs I ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
These were delicious. I made them for a baby shower and they were well received. Don't skip out on any of the seasonings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States