Swedish Meatballs (Svenska Kottbullar) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
This is the 2nd time I have made swedish meatballs (I tend to play around with recipies to make them "mine") and couldn't find the last recipe I used. I AM SO GLAD I DIDN'T! This is by far the best I have tasted and by even looking at the recipe it is about the same as what I changed in the last one too! For everyone who is worried about the taste, give it a shot! The only change I made was to use 1/2 hamburger 1/4 pork sausage and 1/4 mild spiced sausage (we lie a little kick in our meat dishes though) It as DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShaanaArmstrong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Very good! I made a few changes due to what I had on hand and saved a trip to the grocery store. I used milk instead of cream, all chicken broth instead of beef broth, all ground beef. I also cut back the sour cream to aprox. 2 large dallops; we like the beefy taste. The flavors was suble but I'd love to try this with the pork/beef mix next time! Thx :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Delicious, I made this meal last night; it rivals Ilea’s Swedish meatballs. Although the prep time, for me, was longer, I still had the meal completed in 2 ½ hrs. I served it on buttered egg noodles, baked red potatoes and a dollop of red raspberry preserves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nevada City, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
We thought these were fabulous! I lightly toasted the bread before crumbling it, and the chunky breadcrumbs soaked in cream gave the meatballs a wonderful texture and flavor. I wouldn't change a thing about the meatballs, including using the optional spices (I did use all ground beef, as this was what I had on hand). For the gravy, I thought 1/2 container of sour cream was a bit too much. I'd recommend adding 1/4 container, then adding to taste after that, as you can always add more, but you can't take away. Really a terrific recipe that I'm sure we'll be enjoying many more times to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Yuuuummmm! This was so good - it vaguely reminds me of the Swedish meatballs my mother used to make whenever there was a party. I didn't have time for "day-old" bread, so I lightly toasted two slices and crumbled those with the cream. Also, I used a bit more meat (closer to 1 lb. of beef, 1/2 lb. of pork) but otherwise everything else was the same. I recommend using all the spices incl. the brown sugar and ginger. They blend beautifully and the taste is subtle and delicious. Great recipe; thanks to NomNomNom for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
This was awesome! I used all beef and all chicken broth b/c that's all I had on hand. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Definitely 5 stars!!! I was hesitant to use what Americans call "baking spices" with meat but I'm so glad I tried this (including the ginger). The spices are perfectly blended and very subtle. I served it over egg noodles which works great with the gravy & meatballs. I would be very proud to serve this to dinner guests. The only change I made was to use 1/2 lb ground beef & 1/2 lb ground pork instead of the 2/3 & 1/3 ratio in the recipe (just for practicality -- I will be making this again soon!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HNECKONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
These meatballs were delicious. Great recipe, will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
This was great - my husband doesn't like swedish meatballs, so I was looking forward to eating all the leftovers myself, but he loved them. So much for that plan - I had to share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I made this recipe to serve 50 people and it was a huge hit! I recived many compliments and several people wanted the recipe. I made it using the optional ingredients; the only thing I did differently was to substitute onion powder for the sauteed onions and I skipped the pan browning and baked the meatballs (over 350 of them!) in the oven until they were done. This is a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States