Swedish Meatballs (Svenska Kottbullar) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Probably the best Swedish Meatball recipe I've tried! The meatballs were a little on the sweet side for my tastes, but I really enjoyed the sauce. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trahnse

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
My husband made this with ground venison and only used a 1/3 of a container (all we had left). It was fantastic! Our picky kids had multiple helpings. Definitely a guest-worthy meal! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
My husband & I went to Scandinavia for our honeymoon last year, and have been looking for a recipe for the meatballs we loved while over there. This comes very close...we LOVE the sweet/savory spices in these! Adapted a little based on what we had on hand--dry onion flakes, a little bread crumbs instead of bread, used a little seltzer in the meatballs (got that from another recipe here), and used a little cream in the gravy. Ate them with lingonberries that we brought back with us. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Just made these,used fresh ground pork. Just wonderful. The spices were perfect. This recipe will be my go to recipe from now on but need to make a larger batch, very hard not to nibble on them, so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brenniecooks

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Excellent flavor! Kids asked for repeat! 5 stars for meatballs. I used all ground turkey for health reasons. Turkey is soft which makes browning in pan difficult...they fall apart when turning. Instead, I placed on baking sheet and browned in oven, then followed the rest of the instructions for the meatballs. Reasons for 4 starts is the gravy...too much flour taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I made this without the optional ingredients. IT WAS PHENOMENAL!!! The meatballs are fantastic. The gravy was great, though I will probably use a little less sour cream next time. Once it was finished, we split it into individual serving containers and froze it (without the noodles, so we could take them for lunches at work. My husband hates frozen meals, and he hates leftovers, but he can't get enough of these. I just make fresh noodles the night before, and it's a perfect lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Delicious!! I haven't been able to find a recipe as good as this in years. The meatballs are so tender & tasty, love the taste of the spices, just perfect. This is the one I'll be keeping!! I did however make a couple changes to the recipe,I substituded Philidelphia Cream Cheese for the cream in the meatballs, omitted the ginger & brown sugar. I also added fresh mushrooms to the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick Whittles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
This was absolutely delish. I followed to a tee and then put in crockpot to keep warm. Only thing was that it seemed there wasn't enough gravy so I am going to double the chicken/beef broth next time. Other than that, it was an amazing Valentine's dinner and the boyfriend couldn't stop raving! Thanks! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lrshaw

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I followed recipe exactly like written... I thought it was over the top sweet, almost like eating a cupcake. I think there were errors in cooking time, it took me well over 2 hours to make this and I am not an amatuer cook. I also think that if you try this recipe, do not add the sour cream to the simmered sauce unless you temper the sour cream or it can curdle. I'm sorry but very disapointed in this recipe. I only gave it a two star beccause the meatball was tender and moist which is always nice. Just thought too much went into this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This recipe is amazing. My bf had never had Swedish meatballs and now he's obsessed. Even better when topped with mushrooms during the final 10 min or so in the over. Perfect and tasty meal. One of our regular favorites now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States