Swedish Meatballs (Svenska Kottbullar) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Hubs and I really enjoyed this tonight but I have to agree with the "most helpful" reviewer - this was a tad too "sour creamy," so if I had it to do over again, I, too, would like a meatier gravy and reduce the amount of sour cream. Also, looking at the mix of ingredients it seemed to me that it would produce a really "wet" mixture. I decided to hold off adding the chicken broth and I'm glad I did as the texture and consistency was just right without it. Had I used it, I'm afraid it might have been too loose, making it more difficult to form the meatballs. I did add the optional ginger. Glad I did that too. I formed the mixture into approximately 1" meatballs, and these required only about 18 minutes in the oven at 400 degrees. I used butter in place of the drippings for the roux. The sour cream was different for me - I generally use heavy cream. Wasn't sure I would like it as much, but not to worry, other than there being a little too much of it, we liked it nearly as well as we do when made with cream. All and all, a good recipe - just needs some tweaking, I think, to perfect it to suit individual tastes and preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
This recipe was fantastic! I used only beef and used garlic salt instead of regular. I didn't have allspice so I used cloves instead. I also used all chicken broth, added a small pinch of nutmeg and ground cayenne to the gravy, 4 TBS flour and only a few tablespoons of sour cream. I am so pleasantly surprised that these turned out so delicious! Definitely will be making these for an upcoming Halloween party! Thank you so much NomNomNom for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 5mnmjr
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Loved this recipe! I thought it tasted like the ones I remember having at St. Olaf College during Christmas Fest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
This dish is very good. I made it exactly as written except my meat came out to be 1.10 lb, and it yielded 20 meatballs. I think next time i will up the spices a little, as others have mentioned. I enjoyed the flavor, but I personally would like to take it up a notch. I also will brown the meatballs a little longer than 5 mins. as I felt like they were so tender, they could easily fall apart when tossing with noodles. I served it over a 12oz. bag of egg noodles, and the sauce came out to be the perfect amount for that. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
These were delicious! I put them on top of egg noodles and doubled the gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Belleville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Great recipe! It's my first time making meatballs and I have learned I need to cut off the crusts of the sliced bread. I used regular milk to soak the bread and it was fine. Definitely fry the meatballs in a non-stick skillet or it won't stay together. The drippings from the baking dish are magnificent for gravy, I added a little milk (Lactaid) after adding the flour and beef broth instead of the sour cream for my lactose intolerant partner, but I think sour cream would have tasted more authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
This is by far one of the tastiest versions I've had of swedish meatballs. I wouldn't change a thing! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scarlett Gransberg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Dupont, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Tried these for the first time and fell in love.it's now one of my favorite dishes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
My husband has been bugging me to make Swedish Meatballs for literally years haha. He has this childhood memory of them. So I made these and they were AMAZING! The meatballs were soft and moist, the seasoning divine! The gravy was the icing on the cake, the sour cream completely changes it and makes it into something magical! I made this with egg noodles, within 10 minutes there were two meatballs left and a groaning husband. Thanks so much for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Cantrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
The meatballs were far too sweet for my palate. However, my son loved them. The only way I thought I would be able to eat was if I made an extremely rich sauce. I did: 1 6 oz. container of plain yogurt, 2 c. half and half, 1/2 c. water and 2 Knorr Beef Stock concentrates. The sauce was wonderfully rich. I still could not eat the meatballs, BUT, my son has eaten nearly all of it! I will make it again. . .for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Telitha Murray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States