Swedish Meatballs (Svenska Kottbullar) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Very good recipe. There are a lot of steps to this meatball, but make sure you follow them because the end result is really worth it. I did make some slight changes I only had ground beef on hand and used that. Next I will use ground pork too, I am sure that could only make them better. I didn't add the ginger which was optional and used 1/4 cup of sour cream. This is a keeper, but for a weekend or holiday meal when you have more time to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Omg. Omg. Omg. Absolutely DELISHHHHHHH. I admit I was nervous making these with the spices. The way I make Swedish meatballs is not authentic but we all liked it. But I wanted to try a real authentic recipe. This is it!!! Followed to a tee except doubled it and didn't have ground ginger on hand (thought I did). If I had it, I would've used it. Anyway, came out totally outstanding. My family ate these up like the gavones that they are when they like a dish. A total keeper in my house. Will be adding to rotation. We loved this recipe. Thank you nom nom nom!!! Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I tried this for lunch on my somewhat picky children. Most raved about it, and I loved it. My teen said it's the first time he liked the meat even more than the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
An excellent meatball recipe....tender, succulent, well worth the time invested to make them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Amazing! The only thing I did differently was cut the sour cream to about 1/2 cup and added some soy and worcestershire sauce to the sauce part just to add a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Absolutely wonderful! I made this for my parents who are super-picky eaters, there were NO leftovers. This recipe is perfect and easy. Thousand thanks Nom Nom Nom!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mount Holly, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
This was a hit. The whole family proclaimed this a keeper. Only a couple of changes... I used all ground beef, (.that's all I had ) reduced the brown sugar to a teaspoon and I added 1/8 tsp of allspice to the gravy, because many reviews said it was bland. Next time, I'm doubling this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
This was delicious! I actually stuck pretty close to the recipe, which is unusual for me. The only changes I made were to use whole milk instead of cream and pre-made caramelized onions instead of cooking a minced onion. The meatballs turned out a bit wet; I had to squeeze out the excess moisture before frying. I also needed more than 1 Tbsp of butter to brown them. Next time I'll reduce the milk/cream to 1/4 cup and I think it'll be perfect. I served this with half a bag of egg noodles and the proportions were right on. Definitely a keeper! Oh, and I used all of the optional ingredients. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
This is a great recipe and really easy to make. Even the gravy is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Love this recipe and I've been using it for a while now! I was wary of the spices at first but now I'd never make this without them. I use a bit less sour cream because I found it too strong the first time around. I also find the baking instruction to be pretty flexible. If I don't have the time, I just pour the chicken or beef broth in the pan, cover it and let them finish cooking. Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States