Swedish Meatballs (Svenska Kottbullar) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
These were so good. almost like Ikea Swedish meatballs. Forgot the sour cream, but it still was good. Made a large amount of gravy which I liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Naas
Living In: Ione, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I tripled the recipe thinking it sounded wonderful and that we would have some left overs to freeze or take for lunches. WRONG not even a single meatball left and as for the gravy well there is about a tablespoon left. This was delicious and we will make again and again. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marine City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Taylor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
I usually hate it when when people rate recipes that they don't follow, but I'm guilty this time. I skipped the meatballs and used beef stew meat. Browned it off and threw it in the crockpot with all of your spices (including the optionals). When the meat was tender, I thickend the sauce, added the sour cream and served over fresh pasta. Absolutely delicious! I guess my version could be called Swedish stroganoff? Very good recipe. I will make the meat balls next time to honor your family tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
oh my yummy yum yum! I also made these with ground turkey, cut the nutmeg in half. They melted in your mouth. I didnt have beef broth so I used chicken broth and added 1/4 cup heavy creme to the gravy. Then when the balls were done, I put them directly into the gravy. right before serving, I folded in the sour creme. served over egg noodles they were divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacki Dore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
These meatballs are so tasty and moist, they are wonderful and I strongly suggest using the optional seasonings, it really adds to the flavor. This is the best Swedish Meatball recipe I have tried. I will use these meatballs in other dishes as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
This is the real thing. You can adjust spices and serving options to your own tastes,however, as a base recipe this one is as good as it gets. I have not tasted better and it reminds me of my days as a child. Congrats, you nailed this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
Overall a good meatball recipe, but WAY heavy on the onions. I only used 1/2 of an onion and it was still too much. I had a hard time keeping the meatballs together because of all the onions. Plus, they didn't digest very well (if you get my drift). Use only 1/4 of an onion, finely diced, add some veggies, serve over egg noodles, and it's a great family meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
VERY good! I was hoping this would taste more like my mother's recipe but it was most excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Incredible recipe. Thank you for posting this. I only had chicken stock on hand and used that. Still turned out amazing. The meatballs were incredible. I used rice instead of noodles. My fiancé loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakesie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I made this recipe to serve 50 people and it was a huge hit! I recived many compliments and several people wanted the recipe. I made it using the optional ingredients; the only thing I did differently was to substitute onion powder for the sauteed onions and I skipped the pan browning and baked the meatballs (over 350 of them!) in the oven until they were done. This is a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States