Swedish Meatballs (Svenska Kottbullar) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I made the Swedish meatballs recipe and I didn't care for all the spices in it. It looked good but the flavor needed to be toned down. I will not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
This meal was perfection. I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I think these are the best Meatballs I've ever made. Recipe, was kinda disorganized and hard to follow so I suggest you read threw it and sort which ingredients go in the meatballs and which are for the sauce. It was a constant back and forth figuring out what goes where. Other than that, it was amazingly good! I made my meatballs the night before and put them in the fridge to make thing go a little faster the day I cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Grace

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
This was amazing! I followed the recipe, except for one thing. I am low-carb dieting, so I substituted a little Diet Dr Pepper for the brown sugar. (like an ounce or two) I also used Healthy Life bread, instead of regular white. My husband is not usually very vocal when he likes something, but he was raving about this one. He loved it, and told me, "I'll fight you for the last 4 meatballs." :) I served it without any kind of starch. Instead, I sautéed some zucchini and onions with a little butter and tomato vinegar. Those were stellar, too! Overall, a really GREAT meal. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S. Dice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithton, Missouri, USA
Living In: Pocahontas, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
This is the first time I've made this and it was a 10 all the way around! The meatballs were perfect ( I used all ground beef because that's what I had) and the gravy was amazing! I made mashed potatoes and I have a couple of very happy men around here! I will be making this again for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsBob1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Doubled the recipe in order to have for next day lunches. Baked most of the meatballs but fried up about 6 in the pan to have drippings (much easier and less mess). Used "Better than Bouillon" for the broths. Might add freshly fried mushrooms to the gravy next time. Served over noodles... simply delish!! Had so much to eat that I had to hit the couch after supper. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
I made these last night , I didn't have cream , so I mixed cream cheese with mix , made my own bread crumbs, made the recipe as stated, I did add cinnamon, and,Worcestershire sauce , this recipes was,amazing, there were no leftover's as there always are for this house , I'll be making these,again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Yum I used ground turkey it's what I had and it was yummy I did season a lot with salt and pepper but overall it was yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Very good recipe. There are a lot of steps to this meatball, but make sure you follow them because the end result is really worth it. I did make some slight changes I only had ground beef on hand and used that. Next I will use ground pork too, I am sure that could only make them better. I didn't add the ginger which was optional and used 1/4 cup of sour cream. This is a keeper, but for a weekend or holiday meal when you have more time to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Omg. Omg. Omg. Absolutely DELISHHHHHHH. I admit I was nervous making these with the spices. The way I make Swedish meatballs is not authentic but we all liked it. But I wanted to try a real authentic recipe. This is it!!! Followed to a tee except doubled it and didn't have ground ginger on hand (thought I did). If I had it, I would've used it. Anyway, came out totally outstanding. My family ate these up like the gavones that they are when they like a dish. A total keeper in my house. Will be adding to rotation. We loved this recipe. Thank you nom nom nom!!! Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States