Swedish Meatballs (Svenska Kottbullar) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Awesome! Definitely the best Swedish meatballs I ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
These were delicious. I made them for a baby shower and they were well received. Don't skip out on any of the seasonings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I doubled this recipe for Christmas dinner and kids and adults, enjoyed it alike. I varied from the recipe only slightly, choosing not to add nutmeg or brown sugar and added only a dash of ginger. The flavor from the spices is so slight, you would never know it was in there, if you hadn't read the recipe. Maybe adding all the spices along with the brown sugar makes for the odd sweetness other reviewers have posted about? If you're concerned with those flavors, leave them out all together or go conservative. I don't think it would take away from the dish. In the description of this recipe, the author mentions putting this in the crock pot but gives no further instructions. So, I winged it. I prepared as above, placed meatballs in the crock pot, covered with gravy, and placed in the refrigerator overnight. Christmas morning, I put it on low for 4 hours. I didn't add the sour cream until about 15 minutes before serving just because I forgot to add it... and I served it over egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irish Colleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This turned out fantastic! The meatballs were moist and the gravy was smooth and creamy. I too was hesitant about using all of the different spices but it wasn't over powering or too sweet. I served this with egg noodles and my husband loved it! I will definitely be serving this to family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
best meatball recipe on this site...followed the recipe, as far as ingredients but not preparation. I was in a hurry and mixed everything together including grated raw onion instead of sauteing them. Happy to report I had great success. I did add an additional 1/4 tsp of allspice to the gravy to give it that subtle interesting flavor. Served with rice and watched it disappear off of everyone's plates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Such a good recipe! I didn't have cream so I substituted buttermilk. The meatballs are tender and flavorful and the gravy is so yummy. Definitely will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by recipeaholic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Loved this recipe. Never thought to use these kinds of spices, and was a bit worried how the family would like it, but they got a BIG thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
These were very good. Well worth the time and effort put into them. I did not have allspice on hand so I added a little cinnamon instead to the nutmeg and they were very good. I did not have beef broth-- used chicken instead and still delicious. I like it when recipes like this can be flexible. My family loved it! Thanks for your authentic recipe! I asked a real Swede for her recipe and I knew it was not real when it had cream of mushroom soup in it. This is the REAL DEAL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Watson McKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chantilly, Virginia, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
The best meatballs ever. I have been looking for a recipe for Swedish meatballs for a long time and now my search is over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I LOVE meatballs. This is a great recipe for authentic Swedish meatballs. I made one change though. We don't eat ground beef in my house so I used ground bison. The bison gave these meatballs a more robust flavor which the sauce accented very nicely. We have a saying in my house whenever I try a new recipe on my family... " that's a keeper". And this recipe is truly a keeper. Thanks !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States