Swedish Meatballs (Svenska Kottbullar) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
These are unbelievably delicious and I believe the combination of QUALITY ground beef and ground pork is the trick. Guests could not get enough. I always use Greek yogurt in place of sour cream because I always have it on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
A little salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
My daughter was craving meatballs from a certain furniture store, so I decided to give these a try. My husband and daughter both feel these need to be on our regular recipe rotation. I did use turkey instead of the specified meats, and skim milk instead of cream; otherwise the recipe was unaltered. I served it with garlic parsley potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Excellent...what more can you say! Wonderfully tasty, perfect texture, and company asked for the recipe saying it was the best meatballs they ever tasted! I totally agreed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Absolutely delicious! Like many previous reviewers, I too, was skeptical about the spices, but I followed the recipe closely (which is odd for me), and used the optional spices. I deviated slightly by using 1c panko and all lean ground beef (what I had on hand). Instead of all chicken broth, I did use 1/2 beef and chicken base (Better Than Bouillion brand). The meatballs turned out perfectly! The gravy, however, I tweaked a bit by adding the same spices used in the meat mixture (including the brown sugar). I also used a cornstarch slurry to thicken to the consistency I wanted. After removing it from the heat, I briskly whisked in about 1/8c sour cream, tasting as I went. Perfect!! Husband asked me to definitely make again, and I wholeheartedly agree. It will absolutely remain on our fall/winter dinner rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Good just as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shellina
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Followed everything except used a meatloaf mix (pork, beef, lamb) served with mashed potatoes done old school with a potato ricer. Very delish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I thought the sauce would be thicker, creamier and more beefy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Collins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Delicious! The Entire Family Loved This Recipe! Only Change Was That I used All Beef Because That's What I Had On Hand . . . Can't Wait To Make This Again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Hubs and I really enjoyed this tonight but I have to agree with the "most helpful" reviewer - this was a tad too "sour creamy," so if I had it to do over again, I, too, would like a meatier gravy and reduce the amount of sour cream. Also, looking at the mix of ingredients it seemed to me that it would produce a really "wet" mixture. I decided to hold off adding the chicken broth and I'm glad I did as the texture and consistency was just right without it. Had I used it, I'm afraid it might have been too loose, making it more difficult to form the meatballs. I did add the optional ginger. Glad I did that too. I formed the mixture into approximately 1" meatballs, and these required only about 18 minutes in the oven at 400 degrees. I used butter in place of the drippings for the roux. The sour cream was different for me - I generally use heavy cream. Wasn't sure I would like it as much, but not to worry, other than there being a little too much of it, we liked it nearly as well as we do when made with cream. All and all, a good recipe - just needs some tweaking, I think, to perfect it to suit individual tastes and preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States