Swedish Meatballs (Svenska Kottbullar) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
My daughter was craving meatballs from a certain furniture store, so I decided to give these a try. My husband and daughter both feel these need to be on our regular recipe rotation. I did use turkey instead of the specified meats, and skim milk instead of cream; otherwise the recipe was unaltered. I served it with garlic parsley potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Excellent...what more can you say! Wonderfully tasty, perfect texture, and company asked for the recipe saying it was the best meatballs they ever tasted! I totally agreed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Absolutely delicious! Like many previous reviewers, I too, was skeptical about the spices, but I followed the recipe closely (which is odd for me), and used the optional spices. I deviated slightly by using 1c panko and all lean ground beef (what I had on hand). Instead of all chicken broth, I did use 1/2 beef and chicken base (Better Than Bouillion brand). The meatballs turned out perfectly! The gravy, however, I tweaked a bit by adding the same spices used in the meat mixture (including the brown sugar). I also used a cornstarch slurry to thicken to the consistency I wanted. After removing it from the heat, I briskly whisked in about 1/8c sour cream, tasting as I went. Perfect!! Husband asked me to definitely make again, and I wholeheartedly agree. It will absolutely remain on our fall/winter dinner rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Good just as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shellina
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Followed everything except used a meatloaf mix (pork, beef, lamb) served with mashed potatoes done old school with a potato ricer. Very delish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I thought the sauce would be thicker, creamier and more beefy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Collins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Delicious! The Entire Family Loved This Recipe! Only Change Was That I used All Beef Because That's What I Had On Hand . . . Can't Wait To Make This Again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Hubs and I really enjoyed this tonight but I have to agree with the "most helpful" reviewer - this was a tad too "sour creamy," so if I had it to do over again, I, too, would like a meatier gravy and reduce the amount of sour cream. Also, looking at the mix of ingredients it seemed to me that it would produce a really "wet" mixture. I decided to hold off adding the chicken broth and I'm glad I did as the texture and consistency was just right without it. Had I used it, I'm afraid it might have been too loose, making it more difficult to form the meatballs. I did add the optional ginger. Glad I did that too. I formed the mixture into approximately 1" meatballs, and these required only about 18 minutes in the oven at 400 degrees. I used butter in place of the drippings for the roux. The sour cream was different for me - I generally use heavy cream. Wasn't sure I would like it as much, but not to worry, other than there being a little too much of it, we liked it nearly as well as we do when made with cream. All and all, a good recipe - just needs some tweaking, I think, to perfect it to suit individual tastes and preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
This recipe was fantastic! I used only beef and used garlic salt instead of regular. I didn't have allspice so I used cloves instead. I also used all chicken broth, added a small pinch of nutmeg and ground cayenne to the gravy, 4 TBS flour and only a few tablespoons of sour cream. I am so pleasantly surprised that these turned out so delicious! Definitely will be making these for an upcoming Halloween party! Thank you so much NomNomNom for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 5mnmjr
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Loved this recipe! I thought it tasted like the ones I remember having at St. Olaf College during Christmas Fest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States