Swedish Meatballs (Svenska Kottbullar) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Evelyn Letourneau
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Doubled the recipe for my son the meatball monger.... that was a sage decision. .... two 22 year old boys (son and friend ).... everything gone in one sitting..... when I asked if they were good, I just got a few nods as they kept shoveling them in.... I think they liked them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evelyn Letourneau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Yummy! These are the best Swedish Meatballs I have ever had or made. I have a question though, can I freeze these?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syndarella
Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
These are unbelievably delicious and I believe the combination of QUALITY ground beef and ground pork is the trick. Guests could not get enough. I always use Greek yogurt in place of sour cream because I always have it on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
A little salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
My daughter was craving meatballs from a certain furniture store, so I decided to give these a try. My husband and daughter both feel these need to be on our regular recipe rotation. I did use turkey instead of the specified meats, and skim milk instead of cream; otherwise the recipe was unaltered. I served it with garlic parsley potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Excellent...what more can you say! Wonderfully tasty, perfect texture, and company asked for the recipe saying it was the best meatballs they ever tasted! I totally agreed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Absolutely delicious! Like many previous reviewers, I too, was skeptical about the spices, but I followed the recipe closely (which is odd for me), and used the optional spices. I deviated slightly by using 1c panko and all lean ground beef (what I had on hand). Instead of all chicken broth, I did use 1/2 beef and chicken base (Better Than Bouillion brand). The meatballs turned out perfectly! The gravy, however, I tweaked a bit by adding the same spices used in the meat mixture (including the brown sugar). I also used a cornstarch slurry to thicken to the consistency I wanted. After removing it from the heat, I briskly whisked in about 1/8c sour cream, tasting as I went. Perfect!! Husband asked me to definitely make again, and I wholeheartedly agree. It will absolutely remain on our fall/winter dinner rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Good just as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shellina
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Followed everything except used a meatloaf mix (pork, beef, lamb) served with mashed potatoes done old school with a potato ricer. Very delish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I thought the sauce would be thicker, creamier and more beefy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Collins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States