Swedish Meatballs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2000
We LOVED this. The meatballs were delicious!! I left out the parsley and I put a lid on the pan to cook the meatballs thoroughly. We served it over cooked hot egg noodles. This one is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2000
I loved this... my husband hates creamy foods but actually loved this one because there was no sour cream involved!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2000
The best I have found yet!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2001
I substituted ground turkey for the beef and added chicken broth to the pan for thickening since there wasn't a great deal of fat left in the pan after browning. I served the meatballs over egg noodles and it was a hit, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
I thought this meatballs were delicious. I just cannot follow the rules though, so I did add some worstershire sauce and I used seasoned breadcrumbs. Also, the gravy looked time consuming and I have no luck with gravies, so I used Jessica's Swedish Meatball sauce containing cream of mush soup, cream of chick soup, and evaporated milk. I baked the meatballs for 40 minutes and it was absolutely delicious. Very flavorful and lots of gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
I followed Beanhead's idea below. It was SO yummy and tasty! My husband was so impressed, he wants to have that specific recipe at least 3 times a month!! My children ate it up - even the baby of the house had 2 bowls!! Was VERY yummy! Thanks Beanhead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovemyfamily09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
Oh WOW were these ever good.. but I must warn you I altered the recipe a lot. After trying a few really bland recipe's I wanted some FLAVOR.. soooo Instead of cream of wheat, I used Italian bread crumbs. I also added 1/2 tsp allspice, 1 TSP worceschire sauce, 1 tsp garlic powder, and one package Lipton Onion Soup Mix to the meat... (I used 1/2 lb ground beef and 1/2 lb ground pork). I think Marla really hit it on the head with frying the meatballs instead of baking them initially. This really added a lot of flavor. I then used Jessica's sauce (1 can evaporated milk, 1 can cream of chicken soup, one can cream of mushroom soup, and my own addition of 1/4 cup white wine. I have had authentic swedish meatballs in Sweden and these were much better!!! Thanks Marla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
This recipe was great! I made a double recipe so that we could put some in the freezer for another time and they didn't even last until the next night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
WONDERFUL!! I will be making this often. I did use cilantro rather than parsley and put a little bunch in the meatballs AND the sauce. I also added a bit of garlic powder to the meatball mixture and used more tomato sauce. Next time I will also double the sauce, we loved it so much. I served it with creamy mashed potatoes and everyone devoured it all. I may even have to double the meatball recipe and quadruple the sauce. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
My friend just made these meatballs for her party they were a big hit! She didn't make the sauce but they were dipped in barbecue sauce and used as an appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GETCOOKINAGAIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anaheim Hills, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States