Swedish Meatballs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Delicious! Only change I made was to add liquid smoke and worchester sauce to the meatballs. Was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
These were such a dissapointment for how much work is put into them. Not enough sauce, I will not make them again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
The meatballs are great, you will not regret making these. The sauce needs a little work. I might of done something wrong, but it was too thick (maybe too much flour?) I will definatly make these again, worth trying again. Would be good with some mushroom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjsandy2000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
If I could separate the meatballs from the sauce I would give the meatballs a 5 and the sauce a 3. Even my wife, who hates meatballs, meatloaf or anything similar, loved these. I recommend a fine dice on the onion and sweat them down a little first. Otherwise you might still get the bite of some slightly raw onion in your meatballs. Some people like that. I don't. I also went with 1 lb beef and 1/2 lb ground pork. It makes for a much better texture. For the sauce I thought that the basic idea was ok, but I used a good bit more flour and a little added butter and made a good roux with the drippings. I then added heavy cream instead of evaporated milk and stuck with the tomato sauce and nutmeg, but I increased those amounts as well. I also seasoned with salt and pepper to taste. Server over egg noodles and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This sounds like a great recipe for meatballs. The way we do the sauce in Sweden is a little different from this recipe. We use to serve a cream- or a brown sauce to the meatballs. I give you an example of how we are doing: Add the flour to the liquid you got after you fried the meatballs. Stir and then add ordinary milk..or half milk and half cream. Then add some soya and spice with salt and pepper. Serve the meatballs with boiled potato,sauce and lingonberry jam. This is how we use to eat meatballs in Sweden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
My family and I love this recipe. My kids actually ASK me to make this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
The meatballs taste great, but the sauce is not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
the meatballs were so delicious! however the sauce was fatal. next time i'm looking for a differnt sauce and it will be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Okay, so here is what I did :-) I DID make it exactly as written. And it was very good. My onion was a small/med. size. There was plenty of sauce for the amount of meatballs. Now if you are wanting to cover a pasta or something also, then you need to plan on making more gravy of some kind. This gravy is not complicated at all. Less complicated than those that had to open this this or this. Anyways, since I am serving with pasta, I could see I would need to do something with the amount of sauce. While the other SM-1 recipe sounded good, I had just used a white mushroom sauce with pasta over the weekend, and I have CofMushroom coming up on the menu again later this week, so I decided to go a different direction with my pasta, but not with my meatballs. I pretty much made the Pasta Pomodoro, but to my tastes, which is to use a chicken broth seasoning with cup of white wine rather than water, and a can of Italian tomatoes, and a little more Italian seasoning. My cheese was an Italian blend. I thought the two dishes complimented each other very nicely and I was able to save the CofM soup for another day :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
This was not a very good meal for us. The sauce was much thinner than I like and the meatballs were WAY more oniony than I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States