Swedish Meatballs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Just made the meatballs then made my own gravy/sauce... They were awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy McCullough

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
MMMMM, I will make these again and often. I did make a few changes to fit what I had on hand, I used dried diced onion (as I didn't have fresh) and added more evaporated milk to compensate. I also used condensed tomato soup instead of tomato sauce. I found the amount of sauce just slightly lacking, but it worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I rate the meatballs as five stars. I did not make the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
I have been wanting to make swedish meatballs for a while and decided on this one based off of the reviews. I only used the meatball part of this recipe and followed it to a T, however i found these meatballs to be a bit on the bland side. I made the sauce by Jessica as suggested by others and that was delicious!i did add about a 1/2 cup of sour cream, 2 minced garlic cloves, and about 1/4 tsp of freshly grated nutmeg. I might just make this sauce alone with noodles as a meatless dinner or you can definitely grill or saute some chicken breast and serve with this yummy sauce. I will have to tweak the meatball recipe, too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This recipe is very close to my favorite from an old Good Housekeeping Cookbook from the 1940's. The nutmeg is the key, and my favorite recipe uses cream or half and half for the sauce. Dust the meatballs with flour before searing in butter to brown. Then pour about 2 cups of liquid (could be cream and a cup of chicken bouillon) and use a spatula to stir under the meatballs while the sauce thickens and meatballs simmer and finish cooking. Sprinkle a little nutmeg in the sauce too ... yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
These were soooo good! I took advice from another review and added a packet of onion soup mix to the meatball mixture. The flavor was amazing! I even screwed up and used the full 1 cup of evaporated milk into the bread crumb mixture, but they turned out just fine. For the sauce I took advice from other reviews and added 2tsp of flower, 1 can of cream of mushroom, and 1 can of cream of chicken. Really tasty gravy. The man of the house couldn't stop sneaking in to grab another meatball before the gravy was even finished, he liked them so much. Thanks for the recipe. It's why I love this site!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Tastes like Gramma's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
My whle family didn't like the sauce I folowed the recipe to a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fraser, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I am only rating the sauce because I had frozen meatballs that I had to use up. It was amazing. I love swedish meatballs, but only ever got to eat the frozen dinner ones. My husband didn't care for it, but he is a self-proclaimed hater of all white sauces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
well i personalnal loved these meatballs that i made them for my book project.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No time? No problem!
No time? No problem!

Eat well fast with our collection of quick and easy recipes.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down great pies every day right up to Thanksgiving. Join the fun!

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States