Swedish Meatballs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2001
I substituted ground turkey for the beef and added chicken broth to the pan for thickening since there wasn't a great deal of fat left in the pan after browning. I served the meatballs over egg noodles and it was a hit, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
WONDERFUL!! I will be making this often. I did use cilantro rather than parsley and put a little bunch in the meatballs AND the sauce. I also added a bit of garlic powder to the meatball mixture and used more tomato sauce. Next time I will also double the sauce, we loved it so much. I served it with creamy mashed potatoes and everyone devoured it all. I may even have to double the meatball recipe and quadruple the sauce. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
This recipe was great! I made a double recipe so that we could put some in the freezer for another time and they didn't even last until the next night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
My friend just made these meatballs for her party they were a big hit! She didn't make the sauce but they were dipped in barbecue sauce and used as an appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GETCOOKINAGAIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anaheim Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2000
We LOVED this. The meatballs were delicious!! I left out the parsley and I put a lid on the pan to cook the meatballs thoroughly. We served it over cooked hot egg noodles. This one is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2000
I loved this... my husband hates creamy foods but actually loved this one because there was no sour cream involved!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2000
The best I have found yet!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
I thought this meatballs were delicious. I just cannot follow the rules though, so I did add some worstershire sauce and I used seasoned breadcrumbs. Also, the gravy looked time consuming and I have no luck with gravies, so I used Jessica's Swedish Meatball sauce containing cream of mush soup, cream of chick soup, and evaporated milk. I baked the meatballs for 40 minutes and it was absolutely delicious. Very flavorful and lots of gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
I followed Beanhead's idea below. It was SO yummy and tasty! My husband was so impressed, he wants to have that specific recipe at least 3 times a month!! My children ate it up - even the baby of the house had 2 bowls!! Was VERY yummy! Thanks Beanhead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovemyfamily09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
Oh WOW were these ever good.. but I must warn you I altered the recipe a lot. After trying a few really bland recipe's I wanted some FLAVOR.. soooo Instead of cream of wheat, I used Italian bread crumbs. I also added 1/2 tsp allspice, 1 TSP worceschire sauce, 1 tsp garlic powder, and one package Lipton Onion Soup Mix to the meat... (I used 1/2 lb ground beef and 1/2 lb ground pork). I think Marla really hit it on the head with frying the meatballs instead of baking them initially. This really added a lot of flavor. I then used Jessica's sauce (1 can evaporated milk, 1 can cream of chicken soup, one can cream of mushroom soup, and my own addition of 1/4 cup white wine. I have had authentic swedish meatballs in Sweden and these were much better!!! Thanks Marla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States