Swedish Meatballs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
this was a great recipe and easy to make! i made the meatballs with turkey and they tasted so good with some pretty basic ingredients. there wasn't enough sauce though following the directions so i ended up adding some extra regular milk, and flour. i also added salt and pepper to the sauce definitely a recipe i'd make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Very good meatballs. I made this with turkey meat and they were yummy. If you use turkey though make the meatballs a little smaller than golf ball size. Turkey doesn't shrink like beef so mine were a little on the large size. I also didn't used the sauce recipe provided as I has some packets from IKEA for the meatball sauce (cope out I know but its very tasty)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beverly, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cinnaminson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Use Jessica's sauce and these meatballs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
This wasn't too hard for me to make while the kids were down for Quiet Time. I didn't fry the meatballs, no time for that. I formed them with my small cookie scoop to make uniform balls and baked them. The meatballs were the right firmness, if not a little dry. The whole recipe seemed to be missing a couple flavors that I can't pinpoint. I liked the tomato sauce addition. I'd like to try this meatball recipe with another swedish meatball sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
These meatballs are excellent, however, I used Jessica's sauce after seeing other had tried this. These two recipes make the perfect pair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kylie Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gilbertsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
These are very tasty meatballs! My guys loved them! They like cream gravy, so that's what I made. I've already made them twice. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deadliest Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
Very dry recipe. Not any flavor. I've never tried swedish meatballs before, so don't have anything to compare to. Will not try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Made these tonight and the meatballs were fantastic but the sauce needed extra. Next time I will follow another reviewers advice and add more nutmeg, paprika, tarragon and garlic salt to the sauce. Edited: Made these again tonight and they were perfect! I doubled the sauce (used 1 can evap milk and some half and half). Also added a good couple shakes of nutmeg, couple pinches of dill, a dash of paprika and a dash of garlic powder and salt to taste. The sauce was super yummy. I browned the meatballs in a skillet and then put them in a baking dish, poured the sauce over top and put in the oven for 2 hours at 225 degrees to finish cooking all the way through. Served over penne pasta and w/ steamed broccoli on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
These meatballs were very tasty - I will definitely make them again. Made them just as instructed - and made the sauce others had recommended with the Evap milk and cream of mushroom and cream of chicken soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Delicious! I made this meatballs as directed, but like others suggested, I used the sauce from Swedish Meatballs I (1 cup evap. milk, 1 can cream of chicken, 1 can of cream of mushroom). I cooked the meatballs, drained them, added them to my crockpot in layers, pouring the sauce over each layer. Cooked on low for 4 hour. OMG. We will never eat any other meatballs. These would be great with marinara over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States