Swedish Meatballs I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2000
My family loved these!! My 6 year-old daughter had thirds! Very tasty and simple to make. We served ours over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2000
I have not tried this recipe, but it sounds really good and easy. I prefer to brown my meatballs on a cookie sheet in the oven, especially in large quantities. It is even quicker, easier, and healthier than pan frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2000
This is the best Swedish Meatballs recipe I have ever made and my whole family loved it! Easy to prepare and I really liked baking the meatballs first and getting rid of the fat. The gravy is very creamy and I just added about 1/2 t. Nutmeg to the meatballs and then to the gravy too. I would make this for company, it is that good! Karen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2000
Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2000
I liked these; however, I thought the sauce was a bit runny. I would reduce the amount of evap. milk next time. My husband suggested adding some pepper as he thought they were a bit bland. Otherwise, a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2000
This recipe was like eating the "McDonalds" version of swedish meatballs. Quite bland with just a creamy soup taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2000
Very easy and a big hit with my family. I would only suggest to add a little pepper and a dash of salt to the meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2000
Makes plenty of gravy, next time I would cut back on 5 oz. of the milk. Excellent recipe that is definitely "kid-approved"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2000
I served it for Christmas Eve dinner - it was a big hit!!!. Definately add salt & pepper...Swedes aren'tknown for their spicy food. I doubled the recipe and cut out a can of evaporated milk and there was still too much sauce!!! It was even better than the Swedish meatballs that I loved as a child. Very easy - able to enjoy talking to guest rather than stuck in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2001
Overall an ok recipe. I doubled the amount of everything except for the sauce, and there was still way too much sauce. Definately could cut back on about 2 to 3 cans of evaporated milk. I also added a lot of black pepper and some thyme to the meat mixture and I couldn't even taste it. I might try it again with some more seasoning. It's a good base recipe, and is better served over egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States