Swedish Meatballs I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
This recipe is fine - as far as it goes - but authentic Swedish Meatballs include nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
It was ok, I would like to try a different one next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Part of the fun of this site is reading other reviewers comments and tweaks - we can all pretty much look at a recipe and know if we'd like to add something to fit our personal tastes...tho sometimes we're not exactly sure what to add or how much...there's where the other reviewers come in - and all I can say is "Thank you everyone out there !" I too made only the sauce from this recipe...with a few tweaks from other reviewers - added one small finely diced onion with two large finely grated cloves of garlic sauteed in butter..added to two cans of Cream of Mushroom soup...kept the amount of one can evaporated milk...about 8 to 10 oz sour cream...one tablespoon Worcestershire sauce...a few good shakes of black pepper...a pinch of salt - And let me tell you...this sauce is the bomb !...turned out something similar to what my Mom made for us as kids...tho she called it Russian Meatballs - therefore...I am rating this recipe 5 stars as an excellent base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Have tried this about 5 times in the last 6 weeks. Read a lot of the reviews which helped. I have made this with full fat cream of chicken and cream of mushroom soups with full fat milk and sour cream. Turned out very creamy and rich. Also made it with 98% fat free soups, skim and low fat sour cream. Tastes good too and heart healthier. Not as creamy of course. I add 1 tbsp of steaksauce to the meat. The cream of wheat really holds the meatballs together better than when I tried bread crumbs. Evap milk made it a little too sweet for me. Everyone I makes this for loves them. So easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Double the meat mix. The sauce is ample. Goes fast with 2 teenage boys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I've been making this recipe since 2004 and my family enjoys it. I have made it both as written and also with slight tweaks. It is tasty both ways. For those times I don't have cream of wheat in the house, I have used crushed ritz cracker crumbs and they give a good taste in the recipe. For the past few years I have come to prefer the ritz cracker crumbs in this recipe instead of cream of wheat. In the past I've also substituted cream of celery soup for the cream of mushroom with excellent results. This recipe is excellent served with mashed potatoes or with egg noodles. Thank you Jessica for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sniper69

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Did not like this recipe. I took the advice of others and used Marla's meatball recipe and the meatballs themselves were good. The sauce turned out really thick and frankly the color is off putting. That may have been overlooked if the sauce tasted amazing, but it doesn't. Definitely won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Rating is based only for the sauce, it was awesome with very few changes as suggested by others. I did not make the meatballs, but will give it a try next time since the sauce was delicious! I added half cup of sour cream, 2 minced garlic cloves and 1/4 tsp fresh grated nutmeg. This sauce can stand alone with some pasta as a meatless meal. I think it would taste delicious with grilled or sauteed chicken breasts. going to try and make with reduced fat versions of the soups and sour cream for a healthier version. going in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
My husband loved these :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHERRYLYNN2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I have made this several times and our family loves it. I usually use venison, but have tried turkey meat also. We have tried both wide noodles and rice with this and they both work well. Very easy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States