Swedish Meatballs I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2001
On advice from others I added salt, pepper, parsley and a hefty dash of allspice to the meatball mixture. I also used 1 can cr. celery and 1 cr. chicken, 1 15oz can evaporated milk, + 1 c. milk and 1 can mushrooms, drained. Simmered it in the crockpot , excellent recipe, would absolutly make it again. Thanks Jessica!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2000
I served it for Christmas Eve dinner - it was a big hit!!!. Definately add salt & pepper...Swedes aren'tknown for their spicy food. I doubled the recipe and cut out a can of evaporated milk and there was still too much sauce!!! It was even better than the Swedish meatballs that I loved as a child. Very easy - able to enjoy talking to guest rather than stuck in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2001
Note: This recipe has been updated to correct the amount of evaporated milk called for. The correct amount is 1 (12 ounce) can, not 6 (5 ounce) cans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2001
MMMMM, my husband and I LOVED this recipe, the sauce was VERY good. I think most of the reviews on here are before the correction to the recipe was posted. What I did differently though is that I put everything in the crockpot after I cooked the meatballs for 20 min. We served it over the wavey egg noodles, it was DELICIOUS. Another Keeeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2001
Our family loved this recipe. First time making Swedish Meatballs and it was very easy. My 3 year old even loved it - she's very picky. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2001
Delicious! Cut the evap. Milk by 2 cans. Add coarse ground black pepper, and allspice. Cut some sodium and fat with Special Request Campbells soups 98%fat free and very lean ground beef 93/7. Try adding mushrooms also. Peas on the side are great mixed in is even better. This would be a very good dish for children since it is not real spicy. Taste like you were in the kitchen all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2000
My family loved these!! My 6 year-old daughter had thirds! Very tasty and simple to make. We served ours over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2001
Best tasting Swedish meatball recipe I've tried, but making the meatballs was very time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2000
Makes plenty of gravy, next time I would cut back on 5 oz. of the milk. Excellent recipe that is definitely "kid-approved"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2000
This is the best Swedish Meatballs recipe I have ever made and my whole family loved it! Easy to prepare and I really liked baking the meatballs first and getting rid of the fat. The gravy is very creamy and I just added about 1/2 t. Nutmeg to the meatballs and then to the gravy too. I would make this for company, it is that good! Karen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 366) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States