Swedish Meatballs I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
As others have suggested, I used Marla's Meatballs & Jessica's Sauce. Didn't do anything different with the meatballs. To the sauce, I added 1/2 pint of sour cream, 2 cloves of minced garlic, 1 tsp fresh ground pepper, 2 tbls of creamy horseradish sauce, and fresh mushrooms sauteed in butter (just enough to shed some water). Put everything in a slow cooker, set on three for 4 hours (Certainly doesn't have to cook that long, it was just easier that way. I put everything together over lunch so it would be ready for dinner). Served over egg noodles along with French Bread & Ceaser Salad. These were the best Swedish Meatballs I've ever had. (That's saying something from a guy who grew up on the Iron Range of Northern MN.) Thanks Jessica & Marla. PS: I've got the combined recipies along with my additions saved on my computer. If the original people don't mind, I'll post it as a new recipe under JMJ's (Jessica, Marla & Jimmy's) Swedish Meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
510 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I don't usually leave feedback, but this one deserves it. I doubled this recipe, used frozen meatballs, added crushed garlic, sour cream, nutmeg and canned mushrooms. I baked the meatballs breifly and then threw everything in the crockpot and it was the BEST swedish meatball recipe I have every fixed. Adding some of the juice from the mushrooms made this sauce a very nice consistency. Will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
299 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2002
Great dinner but made modifications according to our preferences and other's suggestions. I used low sodium-low fat soups; scratched cream of wheat and used 1/2 c. Italian bread crums; added 1/4 tsp. nutmeg to meatballs; 1 T Worcestershire to sauce and 1/2 can evap. milk. Served with mashed potatoes. There wasn't a ton of sauce though. Other than that we loved it. My husband stuffed himself and said these meatballs compete with this Mother's! I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
People who say this recipe was too sweet are definitely using the wrong kind of milk. Must be using condensed rather than evaporated. It's not sweet. I used Marla's Swedish Meatball recipe for the meatballs and this recipe for the sauce. Very good combination! I used the cream of mushroom with roasted garlic and it was really good. I will definitely make this again. Baking in the sauce gives the meatballs a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
Very Tasty! I did make a few changes though. I used Italian bread crumbs instead of cream of wheat, and added salt, pepper, and a little nutmeg to the meatball mixture. I also added 1/2 cup sour cream and about 1/8 tsp nutmeg to the sauce. Even using reduced fat soup it was very rich and creamy. Definitely a keepr!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
I made my own meatballs (1 LB ground beef, ½ onion, a few shakes of worchestershire sauce, seasoning salt, pepper, a little nutmeg, ½ cup or so of crushed Ritz crackers, and some milk) and fried them up on the stove. I then drained them on paper towels, placed them in an 8x8" dish, and prepared the sauce in the same frying pan (after draining the grease). I sauteed a small can of mushrooms in a little butter then combined with the cans of soup and two small cans (5 oz each) of evaporated milk. Next time, I'm going to use two cans of mushroom soup as the chicken soup added a not-so-great sweetness to it. And I'll probably only use 5 oz of evaporated milk and add a half-cup or so of sour cream. We served it over egg noodles, and it was good... But I think it'll be much better with the changes I want to use. Thanks, Jessica, for a great starting point. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
I followed Beanhead's idea below. It was SO yummy and tasty! My husband was so impressed, he wants to have that specific recipe at least 3 times a month!! My children ate it up. Main thing is to make sure you are using EVAPORATED and not CONDENSED milk. Was VERY yummy! Thanks Beanhead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovemyfamily09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2002
I used the pre-made meatballs - which reduced all the time. It was a great quick meal. I will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2005
This is great comfort food. I added about 1 tsp of tastefully simple seasoned salt and some breadcrumbs to the meatballs, and a dash of nutmeg, pepper, 4 oz sour cream, and sauteed mushrooms to the sauce. After baking the meatballs as directed, I put them in the crockpot with the sauce for 5 hours on low. Heavenly! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
I too used frozen meataballas from Costco (yum) put 2 cans of golden mushroom (much better than cream of mush) 2 cans of cream of chicken, 1 can evaporated milk, sour cream, worteschire sauce, a dash of red wine (I drank the rest) some garlic salt and lots of pepper. All in the crockpot and then put in frozen meatballs. Stirred the pot and sat back and let it cook. Spooned over egg noodles and it is the best comfort food ever! Have a nice salad and pretend it is healthy Darcie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darcie Numan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States