Swedish Meatballs I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2000
I served it for Christmas Eve dinner - it was a big hit!!!. Definately add salt & pepper...Swedes aren'tknown for their spicy food. I doubled the recipe and cut out a can of evaporated milk and there was still too much sauce!!! It was even better than the Swedish meatballs that I loved as a child. Very easy - able to enjoy talking to guest rather than stuck in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2001
Delicious! Cut the evap. Milk by 2 cans. Add coarse ground black pepper, and allspice. Cut some sodium and fat with Special Request Campbells soups 98%fat free and very lean ground beef 93/7. Try adding mushrooms also. Peas on the side are great mixed in is even better. This would be a very good dish for children since it is not real spicy. Taste like you were in the kitchen all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2001
MMMMM, my husband and I LOVED this recipe, the sauce was VERY good. I think most of the reviews on here are before the correction to the recipe was posted. What I did differently though is that I put everything in the crockpot after I cooked the meatballs for 20 min. We served it over the wavey egg noodles, it was DELICIOUS. Another Keeeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2000
This is the best Swedish Meatballs recipe I have ever made and my whole family loved it! Easy to prepare and I really liked baking the meatballs first and getting rid of the fat. The gravy is very creamy and I just added about 1/2 t. Nutmeg to the meatballs and then to the gravy too. I would make this for company, it is that good! Karen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2000
Makes plenty of gravy, next time I would cut back on 5 oz. of the milk. Excellent recipe that is definitely "kid-approved"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2001
Note: This recipe has been updated to correct the amount of evaporated milk called for. The correct amount is 1 (12 ounce) can, not 6 (5 ounce) cans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2000
My family loved these!! My 6 year-old daughter had thirds! Very tasty and simple to make. We served ours over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2001
On advice from others I added salt, pepper, parsley and a hefty dash of allspice to the meatball mixture. I also used 1 can cr. celery and 1 cr. chicken, 1 15oz can evaporated milk, + 1 c. milk and 1 can mushrooms, drained. Simmered it in the crockpot , excellent recipe, would absolutly make it again. Thanks Jessica!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2001
Best tasting Swedish meatball recipe I've tried, but making the meatballs was very time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2001
Our family loved this recipe. First time making Swedish Meatballs and it was very easy. My 3 year old even loved it - she's very picky. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States