Swedish Meatballs I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Very good. Followed others suggestion and used Marla's meatballs and Jessica's sauce. I also added fresh chopped garlic to sauted onions and then sauted some fresh crimini mushrooms as well to add to casserole before baking. I like to keep things lower in fat so used low fat/low sodium cream mushroom, cream celery soups, and evaporated milk. Also sauted vegetables in butter spray. Even with changes, it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
My husband could not stop raving about this dish. He loved it with hot white rice instead of the noodles. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
I usually avoid recipes with condensed soups - and was weary that this used TWO cans. But the salt levels were fine. What I was surprised at what there was no depth of flavor. Definitely something missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellygrrrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
I use this sauce recipe all the time over frozen meatballs. I just add a pinch of nutmeg and a bit of sour cream. Very tasty, and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Titusville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
This was very tasty. I made this for my family using a crock pot and frozen meatballs. I added 1/2 pint sour cream, mushrooms, 2 cloves minced garlic and a dash of Tony Checheree seasoning to the other ingredients and put everything in the crock pot at one time. Everyone liked this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Timolyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Delicious! everyone loved it. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fennbaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Made these for a retirement party and they were a huge hit they were delicious and I like that by baking them you can drain off the grease half way through the cooking time. I made one change and that was using Italian Bread Crumbs instead of the cereal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Tastey. My 4 year old couldn't stop eating the meatballs. I used saltine crackers in the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica_Farr

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olean, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I had Costco meatballs in the fridge so I used them. As others suggested I used sourcream and canned mushrooms. Everyone loved, husband said it was the best and grandbaby said,"yum"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Like a lot of other reviewers, I combined the recipes for Marla's meatballs with Jessica's sauce. I did end up adding some sauteed mushrooms, about 3 tablespoons of fat free sour cream and about a half cup of milk to the sauce. I was skeptical at first because I thought it would be too salty with the soups, but it was actually really good. Italian seasoning, garlic powder, ample ground black pepper and a pinch of allspice in the meatball mixture kept it from being bland. My husband says this is a keeper. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 368) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States