Swedish Meatballs (From a Swede!) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Very good. We added about 1/4 c finely shredded hard cheese. I would also suggest dusting your hands with flour to keep them from sticking to you. The flavor was very nice, make sure to cook them slow but not too slow because they will burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This is the real deal! This is the same recipe I have been cooking for years. I found it in my grandmother's Swedish-English cookbook decades ago. I had sworn myself to secrecy about divluging it but it really is too good not to share! I do chill the meat mixture for a couple of hours before rolling them into balls. A melon ball scoop works wonders for portioning. My family of four enjoys these as a main course, so I always double the original recipe. Have patience - making these is a true labor of love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sutton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
We really liked this. Will cut the salt in half next time and I used all beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Made this recipe on a whim one night and everyone enjoyed it immensely from the youngest to the oldest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Very good and they are just about always served this way in Sweden, but a true Swedish meatball would be made with Moose meat. And the salt can be cut back especially if using the pork. Another Swede
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobnev

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I loved these. They were so easy to make and just with regular things from the cabinet. I only used beef for that was all I had. I doubled the recipe and it took two and a half iron skillets. Served them over angel hair pasta with a made-up sauce of mushroom soup, chicken broth, tamari, lemon juice and water, garnished with baby tomato halfs. Delicious! A single recipe would probably have been sufficient for the three of in the house as they're rich and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Good, but way to salty for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I make it as the recipe dictates but with only half the salt. I have 3 kids aged 6 & under, who are fussy eaters & at any given meal only two will actually like what I put on the table. I make double portions, as it one of the few meals that EVERYONE in the family will eat. I have tried buying store bought but that gets rejected & I'm back to this "labor of love". A good substitute to lingonberry sauce (hard to find) is strawberry jam mixed with a little white vinegar & a pinch of salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Made this recipe for our Family Christmas gathering this year and followed it exactly. The meatballs were all gone in under 15 minutes and people kept asking me for more. Definitely will make these again! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
very tasty, but way too salty, and i'm a person who likes salty food. I will definitely make this again, with less salt next time. Also i used only beef, no pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States