Swedish Meat Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This is a great recipe. The filling did need some salt. It was my first time trying a meat pie, and it took longer than the estimate because it has been a while since I have made dough. Next time I think I will make the pies smaller perhaps dividing the dough into six pieces. I used Russet potatoes and margarine because that was what I had on hand. I will make this again! Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This is the second time that I have made these. My family LOVE them. I am from Junction City, Oregon, I work at the Scandinavian festival and I buy more than one of these every year. I do add fresh garlic, garlic salt and pepper. I did end up doubling the pastry and I bought this really cool mini pie press from Target to use. They look great and they are amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
The wife loved these. I thought they were a touch on the bland side. Granted, I haven't had Swedish food yet that wasn't beige and salty, so maybe I'm not the best judge. I will say that the dough was wonderful and I plan on using it for other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bunchwacky

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I have to agree what some others have said about the meat being somewhat bland, but I did leave out the allspice, dill weed, and nutmeg. I added garlic salt and dried basil. Instead of the dough, I simply used a box of Jiffy pie crust using 4 T. of water and 2 T. sour cream. I should have used 2 boxes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mesandberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
We love the swedish meat pies at the scandinavian fest in Junction City! Now we can eat them all year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
The reviews were so good on this that I decided to make it for my card group. I'm thinking you'd have to be Swedish to appreciate the unusual taste of this dish. Won't be giving this another try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
There is also finely chopped celery in the ones at the scandinavian festival.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
These are so good, I can't tell the difference between this recipe and the finished product at the Scandy Fest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I changed the recipe just a little to fit my family. I used venison instead of beef and more cheese. I took out the spices that my family would not have liked and put in ones they would. I also added philadelphia cream cheese to the recipe for the pie crust. It makes it more smooth and moist. Less sour cream, replaced with philly crm. It was a very good recipe to model mine. I do go to Junction City to get these pies on purpose, now occasionally I can make it myself now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina S

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
ADD SALT AND PEPPER! Its obviously forgotten! But otherwise, so far so good,. But I am lazy, so I added sour cream, plus a little extra flour, salt, shortening and water to my usual pie crust that I had in the freezer. VOILA!!! Seriously, this dough was the easiest I have ever worked with...so I would say that people having problems with cracking and such...just add sour cream to your usual pie crust recipe in place of some of the liquid. Worked amazingly well and I have been rollin' out crust for years! The filling could use some tweaking yet...i will do these again though until they are right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States