Swedish Meat Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
This is so yummy and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
This is fantastic, I did a few things a little different I used about 10 tablespoons of sour cream for the dough and about 1/2 cup milk. I only had 1/4 shortening so I substituted the rest with butter. I also added three tablespoons sour cream to the meat mixture. I added garlic and extra parsley. I love learning new swedish recipe, I wish my family held on to tradition a little more. I wish defiantly be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This is a great recipe. The filling did need some salt. It was my first time trying a meat pie, and it took longer than the estimate because it has been a while since I have made dough. Next time I think I will make the pies smaller perhaps dividing the dough into six pieces. I used Russet potatoes and margarine because that was what I had on hand. I will make this again! Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This is the second time that I have made these. My family LOVE them. I am from Junction City, Oregon, I work at the Scandinavian festival and I buy more than one of these every year. I do add fresh garlic, garlic salt and pepper. I did end up doubling the pastry and I bought this really cool mini pie press from Target to use. They look great and they are amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
The wife loved these. I thought they were a touch on the bland side. Granted, I haven't had Swedish food yet that wasn't beige and salty, so maybe I'm not the best judge. I will say that the dough was wonderful and I plan on using it for other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bunchwacky

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I have to agree what some others have said about the meat being somewhat bland, but I did leave out the allspice, dill weed, and nutmeg. I added garlic salt and dried basil. Instead of the dough, I simply used a box of Jiffy pie crust using 4 T. of water and 2 T. sour cream. I should have used 2 boxes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mesandberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
We love the swedish meat pies at the scandinavian fest in Junction City! Now we can eat them all year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
The reviews were so good on this that I decided to make it for my card group. I'm thinking you'd have to be Swedish to appreciate the unusual taste of this dish. Won't be giving this another try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
There is also finely chopped celery in the ones at the scandinavian festival.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
These are so good, I can't tell the difference between this recipe and the finished product at the Scandy Fest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No time? No problem!
No time? No problem!

Eat well fast with our collection of quick and easy recipes.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down great pies every day right up to Thanksgiving. Join the fun!

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States