Swedish Meat Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
This is fantastic, I did a few things a little different I used about 10 tablespoons of sour cream for the dough and about 1/2 cup milk. I only had 1/4 shortening so I substituted the rest with butter. I also added three tablespoons sour cream to the meat mixture. I added garlic and extra parsley. I love learning new swedish recipe, I wish my family held on to tradition a little more. I wish defiantly be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sunny
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
A good recipe! I would give it somewhere between 4 an five stars though. The meat was too bland, and diretcions were not as clear as they could be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
This is so yummy and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
We love the swedish meat pies at the scandinavian fest in Junction City! Now we can eat them all year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
This recipe was great! I wasn't sure how the crust would turn out based on the ingredients, but it ended up being delicious! The only thing different I did was use regular potatos instead of red ones (didn't have any). I ended up with a extra potato in my filling, but it still tasted great. Making four pies made each one end up a little larger than a Hot Pocket. Next time I might make eight instead and have them be a little smaller. Thank you very much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
This recipe is INCREDIBLE!!! I don't know what they're supposed to taste like, but I don't care. These are SO tasty, and so budget-friendly. This is my husbands new favorite dinner - he loves how hearty they are and he loves bringing them to work for lunch since they're just as good re-heated. Here's a few tips to help it turn out just right. I made it just the same as the recipe, but the dough ended up needing eight tablespoons of sour cream instead of six - otherwise it was too crumbly and even if I got it rolled nicely, it would crack when I folded it over. Also, when you've sauted your filling ingredients, taste test them to be sure you've got enough spices. My spices were a bit old so I needed a bit more of each. Also, when stuffing your pies, I found that it works better to put a little less in each (I froze my extra filling for super-quick pies next time!) and that way they don't bubble out of their crusts during baking. Also it helps not to mound up the filling too much but to press it flat to keep the crust from cracking when you fold it over. I sealed mine well by using a fork to press around the edges. Maybe this all seems obvious to some of you, but for those new to meat pies, I hope it helps the process go more smoothly. The good news is, they all tasted great, misshapen or not! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Someone made something like this for me after I had my baby, but it had chunks of potatoes in it. I like it both ways. Next time I'm going to try putting carrots and peas in it. I think you could do just about anything. really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I substituted the ground beef for ground turkey. It was outstanding! I also used frozen hash brown potatoes. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I changed the recipe just a little to fit my family. I used venison instead of beef and more cheese. I took out the spices that my family would not have liked and put in ones they would. I also added philadelphia cream cheese to the recipe for the pie crust. It makes it more smooth and moist. Less sour cream, replaced with philly crm. It was a very good recipe to model mine. I do go to Junction City to get these pies on purpose, now occasionally I can make it myself now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina S

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
These are so good, I can't tell the difference between this recipe and the finished product at the Scandy Fest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States