Swedish Meat Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
This recipe was great! I wasn't sure how the crust would turn out based on the ingredients, but it ended up being delicious! The only thing different I did was use regular potatos instead of red ones (didn't have any). I ended up with a extra potato in my filling, but it still tasted great. Making four pies made each one end up a little larger than a Hot Pocket. Next time I might make eight instead and have them be a little smaller. Thank you very much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
Kinda bland and dry. needs a gravy or sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
A great filling, portable meal. I used butter for crust instead of shortening and found the dough hard to work with. But it was worth the effort. I improvised a bit with my own favourite spices. Next time, I will use boiled potatoes for smoother texture and some pieces of bacon for extra flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
This recipe went over well with my husband (who is part swedish). It sounded as if it could be a little dry, so I added a little extra chopped onion and shredded cheese. The crust also turned out nice and flaky. The only change I would make to the original recipe would be to add chopped fresh mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 114ACB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edenton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
The recipe was good, but I ended up with a lot more filling than I had dough for. Next time I will double the dough amount and chill it before working with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Very good, but needs more seasoning. Charlie didn't like the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Ok, so I'm torn as how to rate this recipe....The meat filling tasted great as we were preparing it....the dough on the other hand was very difficult to work with, it kept cracking. And then when you put them together, the end result is kinda blah tasting. Oh, the dough was also kinda on the salty side. Will try this one again because I really like the portability of this meal. Thanks for the recipe. It's a good starting point and very workable (I think).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brockway, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Stevensville, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
This recipe is INCREDIBLE!!! I don't know what they're supposed to taste like, but I don't care. These are SO tasty, and so budget-friendly. This is my husbands new favorite dinner - he loves how hearty they are and he loves bringing them to work for lunch since they're just as good re-heated. Here's a few tips to help it turn out just right. I made it just the same as the recipe, but the dough ended up needing eight tablespoons of sour cream instead of six - otherwise it was too crumbly and even if I got it rolled nicely, it would crack when I folded it over. Also, when you've sauted your filling ingredients, taste test them to be sure you've got enough spices. My spices were a bit old so I needed a bit more of each. Also, when stuffing your pies, I found that it works better to put a little less in each (I froze my extra filling for super-quick pies next time!) and that way they don't bubble out of their crusts during baking. Also it helps not to mound up the filling too much but to press it flat to keep the crust from cracking when you fold it over. I sealed mine well by using a fork to press around the edges. Maybe this all seems obvious to some of you, but for those new to meat pies, I hope it helps the process go more smoothly. The good news is, they all tasted great, misshapen or not! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sunny
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
A good recipe! I would give it somewhere between 4 an five stars though. The meat was too bland, and diretcions were not as clear as they could be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
These were huge! Hubby and I split one. We both agreed they were rather bland and in need of salt and more spices. The crust was very tender and flaky, and turned out the best pie crust I have ever made. I didn't shred potatoes just used some canned that I cut into small chunks. We both ate ours and thought this was okay but it did not make our favorites. This actually tasted better the next day after reheating. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States