Swedish Limpu Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2000
Being predominantly Swedish by nationality, this is my favorite bread. My grandmother used to make this often (it was best hot from the oven). My recipe that I have used for several years is almost identical to this one. Occasionally, I skip the orange zest and spices--then it is exactly like my grandmother's, who came from Sweden in her teens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
excellent receipe just like my mother use to make. Love Swiss forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I thought bf would love this--I was sure he liked rye. He's not so sure about this one. Says it's "weird". Why, I don't know. So, I say to him, "I made it for you. I thought you liked rye". Him: "I do". So there you have it. Bf, who likes rye, thinks this is a weird bread, goodness knows why. It tastes like a light rye bread to me. Nothing weird about it in my opinion. Men. Anyway, thanks for the recipe! We have a weird household--don't worry so much about bf and his weirdness. ;o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Madelyn
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
MMmm this bread is really yummy. I am doing a report on Sweden for one of my classes and wanted to test this recipe out before I make it for my class. I didn't have caraway seeds, but I used everything else and it tasted good still. Thank you for this wonderful recipe! I love trying different cultural cuisines and I am really glad I tried this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madelyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
A satisfying, flavorful bread. Not having an orange on hand, I left that out, but was still very pleased with my results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boyce, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
My grandma used to make this bread for hoildays. Brings back memories
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
The first time I made it exactly as the recipe instructs and I loved it. The second time I added 15g of ground cardamom and doubled the orange zest; it is even better (that might make it less authentically Swedish though)! The best part is that it is so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Amazing! my first bread, so did everything exactly as written. Instructions were clear and accurate. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I cannot attest to whether or not this is true Swedish Limpa, but it is excellent rye bread. I followed the instructions, but is it really necessary to boil the orange and seeds?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESCARGOT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I have some great tips and have baked yeast breads for 35 years. Just making some simple healthier choices is a plus. First, always proof your yeast. Just use a half cup of the water called for to do it. I stay away from white flour in most bread recipes if I can so if using whole wheat you will only need about 4 cups. I used the rye flour called for, great texture. No egg yolks, so I used 3 large egg whites beatened with a fork. I love oranges so I grated two whole navel oranges and rinsed grater into pan with the water in recipe to get it all. Use everything else called for. I enjoy mixing my bread by hand. Will bake this wonderful bread again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beachbaby 72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States