Swedish Limpu Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2000
Being predominantly Swedish by nationality, this is my favorite bread. My grandmother used to make this often (it was best hot from the oven). My recipe that I have used for several years is almost identical to this one. Occasionally, I skip the orange zest and spices--then it is exactly like my grandmother's, who came from Sweden in her teens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
excellent receipe just like my mother use to make. Love Swiss forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I thought bf would love this--I was sure he liked rye. He's not so sure about this one. Says it's "weird". Why, I don't know. So, I say to him, "I made it for you. I thought you liked rye". Him: "I do". So there you have it. Bf, who likes rye, thinks this is a weird bread, goodness knows why. It tastes like a light rye bread to me. Nothing weird about it in my opinion. Men. Anyway, thanks for the recipe! We have a weird household--don't worry so much about bf and his weirdness. ;o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Madelyn
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
MMmm this bread is really yummy. I am doing a report on Sweden for one of my classes and wanted to test this recipe out before I make it for my class. I didn't have caraway seeds, but I used everything else and it tasted good still. Thank you for this wonderful recipe! I love trying different cultural cuisines and I am really glad I tried this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madelyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
A satisfying, flavorful bread. Not having an orange on hand, I left that out, but was still very pleased with my results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boyce, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
My grandma used to make this bread for hoildays. Brings back memories
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
The first time I made it exactly as the recipe instructs and I loved it. The second time I added 15g of ground cardamom and doubled the orange zest; it is even better (that might make it less authentically Swedish though)! The best part is that it is so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Amazing! my first bread, so did everything exactly as written. Instructions were clear and accurate. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I cannot attest to whether or not this is true Swedish Limpa, but it is excellent rye bread. I followed the instructions, but is it really necessary to boil the orange and seeds?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESCARGOT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I have some great tips and have baked yeast breads for 35 years. Just making some simple healthier choices is a plus. First, always proof your yeast. Just use a half cup of the water called for to do it. I stay away from white flour in most bread recipes if I can so if using whole wheat you will only need about 4 cups. I used the rye flour called for, great texture. No egg yolks, so I used 3 large egg whites beatened with a fork. I love oranges so I grated two whole navel oranges and rinsed grater into pan with the water in recipe to get it all. Use everything else called for. I enjoy mixing my bread by hand. Will bake this wonderful bread again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beachbaby 72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States