Swedish Kringles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I used milk instead of cream and it worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Made this without changes, the crust was a little too dry and crispy. If you are trying to replicate the racine kringle you buy at the store, this needs more sugar. There is no sugar in this except in the frosting. It also doesn't have any salt if you are using unsalted butter. It is pretty bland as is, I will try making it again with some changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
The flavor was wonderful, and the texture of the outside was great. However, the inside turned out gooey and mushy. ... Even after I cooked it a bit longer than recommended. It almost seemed as if it wasn't cooked thoroughly. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterfliesgrrl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I am very confused. I am usually a very good baker and I failed at this one. The middle layer is too liquid and there is NO WAY it would spread on the bottom layer. If I put it on the pastry it would run all over the pan. I know the middle layer is supposed to be thick to be able to SPREAD over the pastry. What could I have possibly done wrong? I have eaten this pastry and loved it ! NOW I want to be able to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Enjoyed this and expect to make it again! Next time I will add almond extract to the bottom crust, too. I did "up" the extract in the puffy layer--it just needed more! If you are not going to serve this right away, I suggest not frosting it until shortly before serving--my frosting sort of soaked in overnight and I had to refrost, but it was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryscookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
If you're looking for my Great Grandma Bertha's kringle recipe, this is IT! Don't listen to the people that are customizing this recipe, make it AS IS. You can't change perfection! Kringle is a must at holidays, baby showers, and whenever I can think of an excuse to make it... :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This was just okay to me. It was very rich and buttery, but didn't have much flavor, besides an extremely strong almond extract flavor. I even cut the amount of extract in half for both the puff and the frosting. The pastry looked just gorgeous, even though it fell a bit. I frosted it when the puff was cool, and sprinkled it with toasted sliced almonds. However, I was really unimpressed with the taste and texture of this. The puff sank, and created a very strange, flavorless custard-like center, which was somewhat drippy and unappealing. The bottom layer was really yummy to me, like a savory shortbread. It really didn't have a lot of flavor though, but the texture was magnificent. Altogether, this recipe is definitely not inedible, but I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Just like I remembered growing up! Just can't believe how much butter Swedish treats call for! Thanks for posting this - didn't get this recipe passed down from grandparents since I think it was made from memory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I think I must have been expecting something else when I made this. It wasn't good. The frosting is awesome! The bottom layer is completely flavorless and pointless. The middle layer needs more flavor and sweetness. It was very bland. The best part was the frosting. I think I might try this again but skip the bottom layer of crust because it really doesn't need it and it just crumbles and is dry and flavorless. I will add some sugar to the middle layer and more almond flavor. I couldn't taste any almond in the middle layer. Also, I don't know if it just my oven, but I don't usually have a problem and I bake A LOT....but I baked for 55 minutes and it looked done, I stuck in a toothpick and it came out clean, but it was NOT done in the middle. I tried to stick it back in but by the time I got it in, it had already flattened out and it was too late. Don't trust the toothpick test. I think when it looks done, keep it in another 10 minutes or something. I am going to try to find another recipe, but if I can't find one, then I'm going to try this again and alter it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Roos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I wanted to atempt to make a kringle and this recipe helped me to just that... to me the bottom crust wasn't like that in a kringle you would buy in the store... so next time I think I will try without the bottom crust... but even with it, the kringle tasted very good... I also sprinkled sliced almonds over the top to garnish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States