Swedish Ground Almond Spritz Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Tasty good! This is the recipe I've been looking for, for years! They pressed out perfectly except that I didn't grind the almonds finely enough, and so when I tried to use cookie press discs that only had little holes, those holes got plugged up. So I used discs that had bigger slots, like one that makes a snowflake. Grind your almonds finely! Other than that, I'm very happy with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bohlenn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I love, love, love this recipe. I had almond meal so used about a 1/2 c of that instead of the almonds in the recipe. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYONLOGAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winfield, Iowa, USA
Living In: Platte City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I used only scant 2/3 regular sugar, and 2 tsp. almond ext. 1 tsp. vanilla, and only 1 tsp. milk, I baked 12-15 minutes, we like them crispy-till bottoms & edges are a light golden--You will have trouble with the almonds getting stuck in cookies press, so just remember to use the "1/2 inch Star tip"-& they won't do that-and also when you grind the almonds, make sure they're cool-& add 2 Tbsp. sugar to the almonds-use "slivered almonds" -chill briefly-these are truly a delicious swedish cookie-our favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
I just made these and they are great! I had no problem with using this recipe in my cookie press. I use a Teflon cookie sheet that I do not grease and I place it in the freezer for five minutes before using, it helps the dough stick to the pan. I do this for all Spritz recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
These were wonderful. I love the roasted almonds. I disagree with all the people who said they were difficult to make with the cookie press. The first few are never pretty. They turn out great if you follow the instructions. If the dough gets too soft, try tossing it in the freezer for a few minutes, then load up the cookie press and try a few test cookies as it warms up to the right consistency for a nice, clean pattern.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Incredible flavor, poor performance as spritz cookie... make them anyway! I was really excited about this recipe because I love almonds so much. Other reviewers were right in saying that this recipe is NOT a spritz recipe. The dough is way too sticky and will not hold it's shape once you run it through the cookie press. I added an extra 1 cup of flour, allowed it to chill in the fridge for 8 hours, and it still was difficult to press and completely lost its shape in the oven. I even tried rolling it out onto a floured surface and cutting with a cookie cutter... the dough just pulled apart and stuck to everything. BUT... all of that became no big deal once I tasted the finished cookie. DIVINE! They taste like no other and are absolutely amazing. I ended up using a spoon and dropped them onto a cookie sheet and baked as directed. I'm thinking about drizzling them with dark chocolate before serving them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chipley, Florida, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I agree with Jen 100%. Dough was way, way to soft to press out. Even after dough sat in fridge for over an hour. Lost their shape while baking. I ended up just rolling them into balls. They did smell and taste great. But if you want shapes look for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MilitaryWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montclair, California, USA
Living In: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
The taste was OK. I'm glad the almonds were roasted, or there wouldn't be much flavor in these! Refrigerating the dough is a MUST before baking! I really wished I liked these better, because I like the idea of the actual almonds for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I've been making these cookies for at least 5 years, and they're my Swedish hubby's favorite. I follow the recipe exactly, except I refrigerate the dough for 2 hours. I've never had a problem with my cookie press, but I also make sure that I'm pressing these cookies onto cool cookie sheets. If you don't have any available, press the next batch onto parchment paper, and slide that onto the warm cookie sheet. The flavor of these cookies is outstanding, and, as with most spritz cookies, well worth the time and effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
This recipe is very tasty, judging by the dough. However, I too found the dough too sticky and soft to press. Unaltered, this recipe may work best using a cookie press with a type of icing tip (instead of the design plates). To make this work with the cookie press design plates, I added 2 1/4 cups flour. This made the consistency perfect but really weakened the flavor. So, if adding more flour, you may want to also add a little more sugar, salt, and extract. I've found that working flour into the dough with my hands is the best way to judge the consistency of the dough. Once my hand comes clean easily, I've gotten a batter just stiff enough to keep shape. To get a finer almond grind, use a mortar and pestle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spritz Cookies II

See how to use a cookie press to make incredibly beautiful Christmas cookies.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States