Swedish Ground Almond Spritz Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
hell of a mess to spritz them, cookie press clogged up every time after two time pressing a got a triple cookie, had it in the fridge as in recipe, better go out and buy a pound of cookies, taste was OK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Leesburg, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
These cookies taste good with the mix of the almonds in the flour, which gave it a creamy taste. They tasted even better the next day. The only changes I made are that I used almond flour instead of the slivered almonds & reduced the almond essence by half as my family & I are not big fans of the almond essence. I used almond flour as it was faster and easier for me to use this as opposed to slivered almonds as in the recipe. I converted the recipe into metric (in the conversions portion at this site) and then took the measurement from there as being 110gms of almond flour as opposed to blanched slivered almonds. I then lightly toasted the almond flour in a pan over the stove till fragrant but stirring it constantly to prevent the almond flour from burning on the stove top. Baked the cookies at 160°C for about 13-15 minutes for a crispy cookie – again a personal preference. The cookies did puff up in the oven but for most part kept its shape, without retaining too much details of the cookie press set shapes used. The dough was too soft to handle but I did not want to add any additional flour to compromise the taste. So I kept refrigerating the dough and using bits from the fridge. I live in a tropical country with a very humid and warm temperature, ranging between 25-30°C. All in all a good recipe for cookies that my kids, husband, guests & I enjoyed. Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Tasty good! This is the recipe I've been looking for, for years! They pressed out perfectly except that I didn't grind the almonds finely enough, and so when I tried to use cookie press discs that only had little holes, those holes got plugged up. So I used discs that had bigger slots, like one that makes a snowflake. Grind your almonds finely! Other than that, I'm very happy with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bohlenn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I love, love, love this recipe. I had almond meal so used about a 1/2 c of that instead of the almonds in the recipe. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYONLOGAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winfield, Iowa, USA
Living In: Platte City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I used only scant 2/3 regular sugar, and 2 tsp. almond ext. 1 tsp. vanilla, and only 1 tsp. milk, I baked 12-15 minutes, we like them crispy-till bottoms & edges are a light golden--You will have trouble with the almonds getting stuck in cookies press, so just remember to use the "1/2 inch Star tip"-& they won't do that-and also when you grind the almonds, make sure they're cool-& add 2 Tbsp. sugar to the almonds-use "slivered almonds" -chill briefly-these are truly a delicious swedish cookie-our favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
I just made these and they are great! I had no problem with using this recipe in my cookie press. I use a Teflon cookie sheet that I do not grease and I place it in the freezer for five minutes before using, it helps the dough stick to the pan. I do this for all Spritz recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
These were wonderful. I love the roasted almonds. I disagree with all the people who said they were difficult to make with the cookie press. The first few are never pretty. They turn out great if you follow the instructions. If the dough gets too soft, try tossing it in the freezer for a few minutes, then load up the cookie press and try a few test cookies as it warms up to the right consistency for a nice, clean pattern.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Incredible flavor, poor performance as spritz cookie... make them anyway! I was really excited about this recipe because I love almonds so much. Other reviewers were right in saying that this recipe is NOT a spritz recipe. The dough is way too sticky and will not hold it's shape once you run it through the cookie press. I added an extra 1 cup of flour, allowed it to chill in the fridge for 8 hours, and it still was difficult to press and completely lost its shape in the oven. I even tried rolling it out onto a floured surface and cutting with a cookie cutter... the dough just pulled apart and stuck to everything. BUT... all of that became no big deal once I tasted the finished cookie. DIVINE! They taste like no other and are absolutely amazing. I ended up using a spoon and dropped them onto a cookie sheet and baked as directed. I'm thinking about drizzling them with dark chocolate before serving them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chipley, Florida, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I agree with Jen 100%. Dough was way, way to soft to press out. Even after dough sat in fridge for over an hour. Lost their shape while baking. I ended up just rolling them into balls. They did smell and taste great. But if you want shapes look for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MilitaryWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montclair, California, USA
Living In: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
The taste was OK. I'm glad the almonds were roasted, or there wouldn't be much flavor in these! Refrigerating the dough is a MUST before baking! I really wished I liked these better, because I like the idea of the actual almonds for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spritz Cookies II

See how to use a cookie press to make incredibly beautiful Christmas cookies.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States