Swedish Dream Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Delicious. We usually prepare Swedish spritz cookies (we are Swedish and prepare the entire Traditional Swedish Christmas Eve Dinner)but decided to try these instead. Very similar in taste, but I think the crunch and texture is better in these. The entire family agrees. Please consider less almond extract or replacing with vanilla. The flavor is very strong and may be too much for some people. I used 1-tsp instead of of 1-1/2 tsp. It really is plenty. Definitely a keeper. We sprinkled colored sugar on ours like we usually do with the spritz. Find the ammonia for this. It makes it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Baking with Baker's ammonia was a true revelation! I followed the recipe exactly and obtained baker's ammonia from my local Middle Eastern grocery store. The texture was truly melt-in-your mouth - unlike any texture you will get with baking soda or baking powder. Now I am inspired to try other experiments with Baker's ammonia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
this is almost identical to my grandmothers recipe (she didn't use almond) and it is one of my holiday favorites. Don't be afraid that it smells bad when you bake them... but bake a lot and enjoy - they keep for a very long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
If you cannot find baker's ammonia (hartshorn) locally you can purchase it through the King Arthur Flour website (kingarthurflour.com). It does make a difference especially in the crispness of the cookies it is used in and worth trying to find as the other review has said. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I guess the ammonia must be the magic ingredient. I could not find and substituted baking powder, baking soda, and salt, and the result was the blandest cookie ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
These are similiar to my aunts recipe. You must use the ammonia or it won't turn out right. You can find it at alot of german stores. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
I had the opportunity to find out exactly what hartshorn does for a recipe, since I accidentally forgot to bring it with me to the beach, where I first tried this recipe. The results of that batch were okay--others liked them--but to me they were heavy and dull. When I returned home and could actually use the hartshorn I'd bought for this recipe: oh, wow!!! This recipe--plus the hartshorn--is a holy grail for me. The texture is substantial but has a light, clean, dry crunch that I now know is characteristic of hartshorn. Do go to the trouble of finding some for these cookies; it's definitely worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2002
What a wonderful cookie! Sweet, crunchy, and full of the taste of almonds and butter. This should really bring back the use of hartshorn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States