Swedish Cream with Summer Berries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Hi - I am the cook that entered this recipe and as I was reading through the reviews about the warm cream I realized that one important word had been left out of the instructions - "CHILL"! After you pour the cream mixture into the glasses put the glasses into the fridge until chilled- THEN add the berries. It will thicken a bit but won't set up into a really stiff mixture. Sorry for the omission on the original contribution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
This is a good recipe, with a few changes. After reading through it, it sounded like it would be a rather runny sauce that you topped with some sliced strawberries. I didn't really want that...so I made a couple changes. First of all, I whipped the cream instead of boiling it. I folded the sour cream mixture into the whipped cream, and really liked the results. It was smooth, creamy, rich, and lightly sweet. Also, because we are a non-alcohol family, I used 1/4 tsp. of orange extract instead of the orange liqueur. This gave it a pleasant and slight orange flavor which really complimented the strawberries. I used more like 4 cups of berries, and layered them in wine glasses along with the cream. The end results were beautiful and very tasty. Thanks for sharing the recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
I made this recipe for the recipe group... Here's my review: This recipe was AMAZING! We never have alcohol of any kind in our house, so we (my sister and I made this together) used orange extract in place of the Grand Marnier (I've heard that orange juice concentrate would also work...). Another change we made is that we whipped up the cream with the yogurt, sugar, vanilla, orange extract, and sour cream instead of heating it on the stove. Them we made a parfait (check out Larkspur's awesome photo) This was PHENOMENAL! Thanks so much! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geranium

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
I made this as my first participation in the Recipe Group and my entire family is soooo happy that I did! The thought of warm whipping cream mixed with the other ingredients didn't really sound like something we would enjoy. So, I whipped the cream and folded it into the yogurt/sour cream mixture. I also used Patron Citronge Orange Liqueur (perfect substitution!) then layered the strawberries and cream, added a couple of orange segments and chilled for a couple of hours before dinner. This turned out to be perfect for us. My husband has already started giving me other ideas to change this up with other fruits/flavors. He really loved this and thinks "The Recipe "Thingy"" I participated in is a great idea! Thank you Recipe Group and thank you to the submitter of this recipe for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Even though I messed up and got a tub of Whipped Cream versus getting Whipping Cream, it turned out very nice. I just folded in the whipping cream versus cooking the cream as the directions say. My mess up tasted fantastic. It was a very light desert. I layered the strawberries into a glass grated some chocolate on top. It looked great as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
I made this for Recipe Group. My first thought is, warm cream, gag me with a spoon. However, I was pleasantly surprised I must say. It was actually quite good. I used more sour cream in place of the yogurt as I don't use plain yogurt and didn't want to get a big tub that wouldn't get used. I subbed the Grand Marnier with orange juice and a little lemon extract. It still tasted a little like a creamsicle, but with the strawberries, gave a very nice flavor. I probably would not make this again unless I whipped the whipping cream and folded everything together and used it chilled. It does make for an elegant dessert that would finish off a meal with something not too sweet and not too tart. Thanks Hoonde for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I made this in the morning so it could chill. Then I used it as a sauce for a berry trifle with frozen pound cake and chilled it until dessert time. It was fabulous and a huge hit with our guests
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I really wish I had read the comments before making this. It was a huge mistake. I expected a light, fluffy dessert that was cold and yummy. Instead what I found was a very thin cream. Everyone who enjoyed this "fixed" the recipe and to me that means they created their own. When whipping cream is heated it loses the enzyme which allows it to whip. Thus you are left with a runny mess. I was not pleased and will not make this again. I wish people had registered stars that were associated with this recipe and not their own versions of it. I'm sure their versions are fine, however, that's not the recipe "as written".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dfwenigma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
This is a fantastic recipe that I'll be making again! I cut the recipe in half as there were only 2 of us...I used Triple Sec instead of Grand Marnier, as that was what I had on hand. My husband gave it 4 out of 5 stars which is a super good rating from him! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I made this as the Recipe Exchange Group recipe for the week of April 19th. The cream mixture, when warm, tastes good, but I couldn't wrap my mind around it with cold strawberries (though I probably could have eaten it that way). So I made our dessert glasses and chilled them. When I served it my husband asked me if this was melted ice cream. Of course I told him no, it isn't, but in reality, that's pretty much what it is. So tomorrow the remaining 6 servings are going in my ice cream maker. As a note to anyone looking to sub orange extract for the Grand Marnier, I subbed 1/2 tsp. and personally I thought that wasn't enough. My husband could not taste the orange flavor at all, either. I'd use a full teaspoon next time. Thank you for the recipe, I think I'd actually have given this 5 stars if I'd made it the way some of the others did with whipping the cream beforehand! EDIT 4/22/10: I did put the remainder in my ice cream machine with another 1/2 tsp. orange extract & the sliced berries. The leftovers made a satisfying ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Mascarpone Brulee with Fresh Berries

See how to make a simple but impressive summer fruit dessert.

Original Irish Cream

See how to make homemade Irish cream liqueur.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States