Swedish Cream with Summer Berries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
This is a fantastic recipe that I'll be making again! I cut the recipe in half as there were only 2 of us...I used Triple Sec instead of Grand Marnier, as that was what I had on hand. My husband gave it 4 out of 5 stars which is a super good rating from him! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I followed other reviewers suggestions and whipped the cream cold instead of heating it. I then folded it carefully with the remaining ingredients. I also used light sour cream and that worked fine. We enjoyed it, but I'm only giving it four stars because I wasn't a huge fan of the orange flavor. Next time I might try something else--stick with only vanilla, or maybe add almond extract instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shanna Sarr
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Words truly can't describe this one. Made non-alcoholic (baby on board!) by substituting 1/2 tsp orange extract for the Grand Marnier. Increased sugar to 3/4c. Did not boil the cream - I whipped the whipped cream until stiff in one bowl, and beat the remaining ingredients in another. Then gently whisked the two together. Used a mix of fresh strawberries, and frozen mixed berries. DELISH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanna Sarr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I used lowfat sour cream (on hand) and vanilla yogurt (on hand AND vanilla is called for in the recipe). I did halve the recipe, but followed the cooking instructions as written, heating the cream to almost boiling. This was served at room temperature and the leftovers were delicious cold with berries mixed throughout. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I made this as the Recipe Exchange Group recipe for the week of April 19th. The cream mixture, when warm, tastes good, but I couldn't wrap my mind around it with cold strawberries (though I probably could have eaten it that way). So I made our dessert glasses and chilled them. When I served it my husband asked me if this was melted ice cream. Of course I told him no, it isn't, but in reality, that's pretty much what it is. So tomorrow the remaining 6 servings are going in my ice cream maker. As a note to anyone looking to sub orange extract for the Grand Marnier, I subbed 1/2 tsp. and personally I thought that wasn't enough. My husband could not taste the orange flavor at all, either. I'd use a full teaspoon next time. Thank you for the recipe, I think I'd actually have given this 5 stars if I'd made it the way some of the others did with whipping the cream beforehand! EDIT 4/22/10: I did put the remainder in my ice cream machine with another 1/2 tsp. orange extract & the sliced berries. The leftovers made a satisfying ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I made this for the Recipe Group. I was kind of scared of this recipe. Warm cream/milk has never really appealed to me. But I will say this is really good and the kids really enjoyed it, hubby wouldn't try it warm so he chilled his. Not overpoweringly sweet which is nice. I did sub 2 T of orange juice for the liqueur since we aren't big drinkers and I would never use a whole bottle, and kids were eating this as well. It gave it a light citrus taste but was not over powering. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
This was a bit thinner than I would have liked, but the flavor was good. When I have had it before it had a custard consistency and the recipe included unflavored gelatin. I made one dish with just strawberries and the rest I used a mixture of frozen blackberries, raspberries and strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
I made this recipe for Recipe Group. I subbed Splenda for the sugar and RF sour cream for the full fat version. I tasted it while it was still warm and knew I would prefer it chilled. I used Grand Marnier and did not taste a strong orange flavor as some of the others who subbed orange juice or orange extract. I halved the recipe and still put it in 9 small serving dishes, plenty for a light dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
I made this as my first participation in the Recipe Group and my entire family is soooo happy that I did! The thought of warm whipping cream mixed with the other ingredients didn't really sound like something we would enjoy. So, I whipped the cream and folded it into the yogurt/sour cream mixture. I also used Patron Citronge Orange Liqueur (perfect substitution!) then layered the strawberries and cream, added a couple of orange segments and chilled for a couple of hours before dinner. This turned out to be perfect for us. My husband has already started giving me other ideas to change this up with other fruits/flavors. He really loved this and thinks "The Recipe "Thingy"" I participated in is a great idea! Thank you Recipe Group and thank you to the submitter of this recipe for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
I made this for Recipe Group. My first thought is, warm cream, gag me with a spoon. However, I was pleasantly surprised I must say. It was actually quite good. I used more sour cream in place of the yogurt as I don't use plain yogurt and didn't want to get a big tub that wouldn't get used. I subbed the Grand Marnier with orange juice and a little lemon extract. It still tasted a little like a creamsicle, but with the strawberries, gave a very nice flavor. I probably would not make this again unless I whipped the whipping cream and folded everything together and used it chilled. It does make for an elegant dessert that would finish off a meal with something not too sweet and not too tart. Thanks Hoonde for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Mascarpone Brulee with Fresh Berries

See how to make a simple but impressive summer fruit dessert.

Original Irish Cream

See how to make homemade Irish cream liqueur.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States