Swedish Cream with Summer Berries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Amazing! I followed the recipe with the author's correction to chill the cream mixture before adding the strawberries. Also, I didn't have plain yogurt, but I had vanilla yogurt, so I used that with a little less sugar and vanilla extract. This reminded me of both a Strawberries Romanoff and a Grand Marnier souffle that I used to get at fancy restaurants. I wish I had a souffle or pound cake to sop up the leftover cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I would give it 5 stars for taste but, as many others have pointed out, scalding the cream was a bit of a mystery. I tried it but it never thickened, even when cooled, so I chilled it, whipped it, & folded it into the sour cream/yogurt. Cut back on the sugar a little & used half grand marnier/half triple sec. The flavor was delightful. I layered it in parfaits with some leftover plum puree which worked out well. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Woodstock, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jadedgurl
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
The flavor was good but it never really"set" for me. I think next time I may just use cool whip instead of the whipping cream as it came out more like thickened milk. Or maybe I will whip the cream first and not heat it. Definitly worth a second try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jadedgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
As I'm British, I've copied the British measurements for this recipe below. 250ml soured cream 100g caster sugar 120ml natural yoghurt 1 teaspoon vanilla extract 3 tablespoons Grand Marnier 475ml double cream 1 punnet fresh strawberries, hulled and sliced I was looking for something that was not only quick and easy to put together but that also looked impressive for my dinner party. This recipe fitted the bill perfectly. As Grand Marnier is so expensive, I used brandy mixed with orange oil to replace it for this recipe. It worked perfectly well. As strawberries are currently out of season, I topped with orange segments instead and then served with some home-made biscuits. The only thing I think that I would add is that YOU MUST CHILL these for a couple of hours to allow them to set. For some reason, this appears to be omitted from the recipe. A refreshingly good, sophisticated dessert that my guests loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
This made a lovely parfait with raspberries and blueberries. Don't forget to chill it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I really wish I had read the comments before making this. It was a huge mistake. I expected a light, fluffy dessert that was cold and yummy. Instead what I found was a very thin cream. Everyone who enjoyed this "fixed" the recipe and to me that means they created their own. When whipping cream is heated it loses the enzyme which allows it to whip. Thus you are left with a runny mess. I was not pleased and will not make this again. I wish people had registered stars that were associated with this recipe and not their own versions of it. I'm sure their versions are fine, however, that's not the recipe "as written".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dfwenigma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This was easy to make and pretty good. Although I made it exactly according to the recipe this time, next time I will whip the heavy cream first and add the other ingedients, as other reviewers have done. I just think the consistency would be nicer that way. Thanks for a delicious and different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Hi - I am the cook that entered this recipe and as I was reading through the reviews about the warm cream I realized that one important word had been left out of the instructions - "CHILL"! After you pour the cream mixture into the glasses put the glasses into the fridge until chilled- THEN add the berries. It will thicken a bit but won't set up into a really stiff mixture. Sorry for the omission on the original contribution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
This was a very refreshing and simple dessert. As suggested by another reviewer, I served it cold and didn't cook the cream, I just layered with the strawberries and grated some chocolate on the top, which is a really nice complement to this dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Like others who have reviewed this recipe I replaced cool whip for heavy whipping cream (skipped the stove for this recipe), and orange extract in the place of flavored brandy. This was served chilled with Almond Shortbread I from this site. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Mascarpone Brulee with Fresh Berries

See how to make a simple but impressive summer fruit dessert.

Original Irish Cream

See how to make homemade Irish cream liqueur.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States