Swedish Cream with Summer Berries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I made this in the morning so it could chill. Then I used it as a sauce for a berry trifle with frozen pound cake and chilled it until dessert time. It was fabulous and a huge hit with our guests
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Even though I messed up and got a tub of Whipped Cream versus getting Whipping Cream, it turned out very nice. I just folded in the whipping cream versus cooking the cream as the directions say. My mess up tasted fantastic. It was a very light desert. I layered the strawberries into a glass grated some chocolate on top. It looked great as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Photo by sugarbean
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
This was a lovely recipe, easy to prepare and the results were very nice. Paired with the strawberries, the cream was delicious, on its own it tasted like a orange creamcicle, which I didn't care for. It was a hit with my husband and son. I will definitely make this to serve with shortcake and as a dip for fresh fruit. I used oj instead of the liqueur b/c I made this for my children. I also did not heat the cream, just as a matter of saving time. But I can imagine that serving this warm with a strawberry crisp would be nice too. Great pick Recipe Group!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarbean

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
This is a good recipe, with a few changes. After reading through it, it sounded like it would be a rather runny sauce that you topped with some sliced strawberries. I didn't really want that...so I made a couple changes. First of all, I whipped the cream instead of boiling it. I folded the sour cream mixture into the whipped cream, and really liked the results. It was smooth, creamy, rich, and lightly sweet. Also, because we are a non-alcohol family, I used 1/4 tsp. of orange extract instead of the orange liqueur. This gave it a pleasant and slight orange flavor which really complimented the strawberries. I used more like 4 cups of berries, and layered them in wine glasses along with the cream. The end results were beautiful and very tasty. Thanks for sharing the recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
I made this recipe for the recipe group... Here's my review: This recipe was AMAZING! We never have alcohol of any kind in our house, so we (my sister and I made this together) used orange extract in place of the Grand Marnier (I've heard that orange juice concentrate would also work...). Another change we made is that we whipped up the cream with the yogurt, sugar, vanilla, orange extract, and sour cream instead of heating it on the stove. Them we made a parfait (check out Larkspur's awesome photo) This was PHENOMENAL! Thanks so much! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geranium

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
I made this for Recipe Group. My first thought is, warm cream, gag me with a spoon. However, I was pleasantly surprised I must say. It was actually quite good. I used more sour cream in place of the yogurt as I don't use plain yogurt and didn't want to get a big tub that wouldn't get used. I subbed the Grand Marnier with orange juice and a little lemon extract. It still tasted a little like a creamsicle, but with the strawberries, gave a very nice flavor. I probably would not make this again unless I whipped the whipping cream and folded everything together and used it chilled. It does make for an elegant dessert that would finish off a meal with something not too sweet and not too tart. Thanks Hoonde for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
I made this as my first participation in the Recipe Group and my entire family is soooo happy that I did! The thought of warm whipping cream mixed with the other ingredients didn't really sound like something we would enjoy. So, I whipped the cream and folded it into the yogurt/sour cream mixture. I also used Patron Citronge Orange Liqueur (perfect substitution!) then layered the strawberries and cream, added a couple of orange segments and chilled for a couple of hours before dinner. This turned out to be perfect for us. My husband has already started giving me other ideas to change this up with other fruits/flavors. He really loved this and thinks "The Recipe "Thingy"" I participated in is a great idea! Thank you Recipe Group and thank you to the submitter of this recipe for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
I made this recipe for Recipe Group. I subbed Splenda for the sugar and RF sour cream for the full fat version. I tasted it while it was still warm and knew I would prefer it chilled. I used Grand Marnier and did not taste a strong orange flavor as some of the others who subbed orange juice or orange extract. I halved the recipe and still put it in 9 small serving dishes, plenty for a light dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
This was a bit thinner than I would have liked, but the flavor was good. When I have had it before it had a custard consistency and the recipe included unflavored gelatin. I made one dish with just strawberries and the rest I used a mixture of frozen blackberries, raspberries and strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I made this for the Recipe Group. I was kind of scared of this recipe. Warm cream/milk has never really appealed to me. But I will say this is really good and the kids really enjoyed it, hubby wouldn't try it warm so he chilled his. Not overpoweringly sweet which is nice. I did sub 2 T of orange juice for the liqueur since we aren't big drinkers and I would never use a whole bottle, and kids were eating this as well. It gave it a light citrus taste but was not over powering. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Mascarpone Brulee with Fresh Berries

See how to make a simple but impressive summer fruit dessert.

Original Irish Cream

See how to make homemade Irish cream liqueur.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States