Swedish Cream Wafers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
I'm glad that credit was given to the Swedes for the recipe. It seems like all my Swedish relatives think that a recipe should have lots of cream and butter to make it delicious. Maybe not so great for your arteries, but once in a while, who cares? I remember my Mor Mor making similar cookies for her Christmas Eve smorgasboard. The only thing I would suggest is keeping the cookies chilled until right before serving. They are still wonderful, but don't crumble as much as when they are at room temperature. If you are worried about using a raw egg, you can get pasturized eggs at the supermarket, or if you are still worried, leave that ingredient out. These cookies also freeze very well, so you can make them well in advance of when they will be eaten. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
My family has been making these cookies for generations. Growing up, I didn't even realize it was a popular cookie. We substitute 1 Tbsp. whipping cream for the egg yolk in the filling. Works perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
this is a version of my family's all time greatest cookie. Ours uses light cream instead of heavy, which I couldnt even find on the west coast (light cream is abundant here in the NE). They take a little labor, but its well worth it. People will pause after the first bite and be overcome with how great they are. I roll them thinner than the photos are showing, and use a napkin ring as my cookie cutter. Grandma used a shot-glass :-) I agree with the other ratings, don't be afraid of the egg-yolk and definitely check it at 7 minutes. They should be just getting golden on the edges but overbake quickly. I also double the filling for perfect proportions. Detyails on the recipe -- chill the dough in thirds in flat disks. Take each disk out and leave at room temp for 10-15 minutes, then roll with just a bit of flour on surface and rolling pin. I rolled them this year directly on my granite counters and it worked great. I only prick the cookies with the fork twice and they don't puff up too big. Make them once and you will be a convert -- if Christmas is too much then make them for Easter and color them with pastels!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2001
Excellent cookie! My mother has been making this for years and visited for the holidays (Without her recipes!) So we looked for a similar recipe and this is it! The only thing we didn't add was the egg yolk to the frosting - no real need and why take the chance on an uncooked item like that! VERY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Not sure why anyone would consider this a "rip off" from another recipe source?? I first had these 30 years ago when a co-worker brought them to work...they were delicious. I'm glad to see it here as I don't have a Betty Crocker cook book. They really melt in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Excellent! Takes time BUT well worth!!! Followed recipe exactly with no substitutions. (The egg yolk is not going to hurt you.) Make sure to double the filling. My children make this with me during the holidays and it is now a family tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TGal

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
Made these slightly smaller than the recipe states. I used white filling and rolled the finished cookie edge in colored edible glitter (the bride's colors) found at craft stores. Makes a beautiful presentation on a bridal cookie table. Even the caterer wanted the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sharpsville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hummelstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I made these cookies for Easter and everyone raved! My hubby's new favorite! They are crisp, light, but also creamy... very different in a very good way. I didn't use the egg yolk because of the little ones, but it didn't seem to be missing anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4babes2luv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
This was a wonderful addition to my cookie repertoire. Instead of rolling my cookies out on a floured board, I rolled them out on a sugar sprinkled board. This eliminated the extra flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Romyko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I have been making these for 40 years and my son still insists on having them at Christmas!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Park Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States