Swedish Cookies (Brunscrackers) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
These cookies are fantastic. Having lived in Norway for several years, I will explain that the vanilla sugar (vaniljesukker)I found in the grocery store was, in fact, of a powdered sugar consistency. However, it can be quite difficult to find the Scandinavia style of vanilla sugar in the United States. I have made the recipe using granulated sugar and adding vanilla, as well as using powdered sugar and adding vanilla. Both ways have turned out just fine. In my estimation, this recipe is very forgiving and highly adaptable. Thus, I think it does not make too much difference which variation of vanilla sugar is used. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
True to the description, these cookies are super easy to make and taste absolutely wonderful. I make my own vanilla sugar and used maple syrup. My DH actually gave them this rating. He is drinking a cup of tea and eating them as I am writing this review. He said they would be excellent with coffee or milk also. I even nibbled on one and they almost melt in your mouth. Crispy on the outside, soft and chewy on the inside. Thank you for sharing such a wonderful, easy, and fast to make recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
These cookies are very similar to the classic Danish butter cookies that come in the tins during the holidays. Only they're richer and have much more flavour. I made these on a spur of the moment and only had 1/2 cup of butter, so I substituted 1/2 cup of Crisco and they still came out fabulous. I'll have to try the recipe as is when I can to see how they compare. But butter tends to make a crispier cookie, whereas oil tends to keep them more moist, and I really enjoyed the almost chewy quality of these in the center. Golden Syrup can be hard to find in grocery stores across rural America, but most specialty cooking supply stores carry it. I just substituted light corn syrup and a smidge of sorghum molasses. They go terrific with a cup of hot tea or coffee. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grüne Eier

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Princeton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
response to previous post ... i have found it in the "international" section of my grocery store with the british products ... or you can just google it & find it online ... Golden syrup is a thick, amber-colored form of inverted sugar syrup, made in the process of refining sugar cane juice into sugar, or by treatment of a sugar solution with acid. It is used in a variety of baking recipes and desserts. It has an appearance and taste similar to honey, and is often used as a substitute for people who cannot eat honey and those who choose not to (such as vegans). It can also be used as a substitute for corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I loved this recipe. Owing to the fact I had no clue what golden syrup or vanilla sugar were, I just improvised. I used honey for the syrup and for the vanilla sugar I used 1 tsp vanilla extract. These were great! I also liked the fact it had no eggs since I LOVE to eat cookie dough by itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Cartersville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
AWESOME! Best and easiest sugar cookies ever. Don't even compare to any I have ever eaten! Definitely need to give them some time to cool before cutting into strips or you will have a mess on your hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sandra25
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
Great buttery taste! I made them with whole wheat flour and maple syrup instead of the golden syrup, and they still turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra25

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This recipe was so delicious and SO easy to make! I used regular syrup instead of golden syrup because I was unsure what that was, but they came out great nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cmartcookie
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Like a flat biscotti and very good without dipping into chocolate, even though you might be tempted! I used honey for syrup and pure vanilla extract instead of vanilla sugar. Since recipe said to make ~1" rolls, I made several to fit on parchment-lined baking sheets (see photos). Watch them in the oven! Even though I used margarine, one sheet took 20 minutes and the other batch took 15 min. To the 2nd batch, I added 1/4 cup baking cocoa - probably not traditional, but very good! I also added ~ 2/3 cup extra flour to each batch for high altitude (>7200') adjustment. Would be nice to see a photo of what these are supposed to look like, but this is my best guess! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmartcookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Yum, quick and easy cookies! I can't find vanilla beans or golden syrup out here in Hooterville so I used 1 tsp vanilla extract and maple syrup, then baked them as drop cookies for 8 minutes. The second time I made them I replaced half the sugar with dark brown sugar and they came out moist and chewy and just crisp around the edges. My new go-to when we just want some cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States