Swedish Cookies (Brunscrackers) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
AWESOME! Best and easiest sugar cookies ever. Don't even compare to any I have ever eaten! Definitely need to give them some time to cool before cutting into strips or you will have a mess on your hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
These cookies are fantastic. Having lived in Norway for several years, I will explain that the vanilla sugar (vaniljesukker)I found in the grocery store was, in fact, of a powdered sugar consistency. However, it can be quite difficult to find the Scandinavia style of vanilla sugar in the United States. I have made the recipe using granulated sugar and adding vanilla, as well as using powdered sugar and adding vanilla. Both ways have turned out just fine. In my estimation, this recipe is very forgiving and highly adaptable. Thus, I think it does not make too much difference which variation of vanilla sugar is used. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sandra25
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
Great buttery taste! I made them with whole wheat flour and maple syrup instead of the golden syrup, and they still turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra25

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
These were pretty good. I was making sugar cookies, but ran out of eggs so found this recipe to use up the dough. I added vanilla extract instead of vanilla sugar (by the way, you can make vanilla sugar by just adding vanilla beans to your sugar) and maple syrup. I also added a bit of nutmeg because I'm on a nutmeg kick right now. I did them as drop cookies and they turned out quite yummy! I'll be adding them to some of my Christmas gift baskets this year. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendizcooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
The first time I made these almost according to directions - switching corn syrup for golden, and baked them in two rolls and they did not turn out at all. The second time I did them as drop cookies and the taste was very good. Great tasting, but I had issues with the method
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
These cookies were great! I couldn't get vanilla sugar or golden syrup so I used vanilla extract and maple syrup and it worked great. They were a bit hard when they can out of the oven but very tasty. A very easy and yummy cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I loved this recipe. Owing to the fact I had no clue what golden syrup or vanilla sugar were, I just improvised. I used honey for the syrup and for the vanilla sugar I used 1 tsp vanilla extract. These were great! I also liked the fact it had no eggs since I LOVE to eat cookie dough by itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Cartersville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
Extremely buttery. Did not turn out right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
True to the description, these cookies are super easy to make and taste absolutely wonderful. I make my own vanilla sugar and used maple syrup. My DH actually gave them this rating. He is drinking a cup of tea and eating them as I am writing this review. He said they would be excellent with coffee or milk also. I even nibbled on one and they almost melt in your mouth. Crispy on the outside, soft and chewy on the inside. Thank you for sharing such a wonderful, easy, and fast to make recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
response to previous post ... i have found it in the "international" section of my grocery store with the british products ... or you can just google it & find it online ... Golden syrup is a thick, amber-colored form of inverted sugar syrup, made in the process of refining sugar cane juice into sugar, or by treatment of a sugar solution with acid. It is used in a variety of baking recipes and desserts. It has an appearance and taste similar to honey, and is often used as a substitute for people who cannot eat honey and those who choose not to (such as vegans). It can also be used as a substitute for corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States