Swedish Christmas Glogg Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Yum. Made with a sweet/dry wine so left out port. Added the Cardamon as suggested. Made the rest of the recipe as is. Oh so good. Just the thing during a snow storm to warm us up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
This is a delicious recipe as is. I actually prefer to use red table wine in place of the port because port + all of that sugar is just too sweet for me. In fact, I typically use red table wine and only 1/4 cup of sugar. I also prefer not to add the brandy. It is SUPER strong with just the wine and the rum. Depending on who I serve it to, I would leave the rum as is for those who like stronger drinks, but when my parents come over, I reduce the rum a bit. The smell of this drink is amazing. It's perfect for Christmas evening!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Photo by Hollygolightly
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Just follow recipe, add cardamon pods and enjoy!!! Its delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hollygolightly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I remember this from growing up with a Swedish grandfather! Many happy Christmas memories! Tack sa mychat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
My grandmother make this every christmas along with many other swedish dishes and this was always my favorite i tried this one to make at home i personally perferr her recipie but shes been making it longer than me and its a family recipie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This recipe, along with the addition of cardemom, is almost identical to the one my great aunt made every Christmas. It was her Swedish mother's recipe and made the house smell so good!! (She even had a special white enamel pot for it!) Hint: tie the cinnamon sticks, whole cloves and cardemom in cheesecloth. Remove before serving and you won't get them into the cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kearny, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I made this recipe for a Christmas party and it was quite good. I would comment that I followed the directions to a tee and it was overpowering with the wine and spices used. In the attempt to thin down the mix I squeezed two clementines into it and added 1L of seltzer water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I agree, add cardamon seed 1T. This is the greatest drink in the world on a cold, snowy night! The house will smell AMAZING!!!!! Put away the air freshener, put on a great holiday movie and snuggle into a big easy chair with your fluffiest jammies, slippers and blanket when you have a huge, warm cup of this stuff! Did I paint enough of a tempting pic for you? Good, now go make some, and tell the kids to eat the cookies you baked and stop bothering you for a glass of what you're having :-D LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Moskal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
With the addition of cardamom this is the exact recipe Mom & I made year in and out. Great memories now with every sip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Mai Tai

A tropical cocktail made with coconut rum and pineapple juice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States