Swedish Cardamom Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
This is very authentic. Better than my own recipe. Anyone that doesn't like this recipes doesn't like real Swedish food. I'm shocked that this doesn't have 1000 positive comments. You don't need msg and I use butter crackers instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
love the meatballs, but will definitly be using different spices in gravy next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Way too rich and sweet. Too much butter, sugar and sweet spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mschybm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Meatballs are ruined by the extremely sweet sauce. If you omit the sugar this may be good.....I always try a recipe as written the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
MSG??? Both parents born in Sweden and Mom never put onions in anything she called Swedish. American (yeah I'm one too) are onion crazy. At least this one's got the cardamom in it. For me - No onions, no mushrooms, no green peppers either.  No thanks but if you prefer go for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
The sauce was interesting. It was edible, but different. Not sure if we'll make it again, but I love cardamon and enjoyed that aspect of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
Good meatball, but needs much less nutmeg. When I made them without nutmeg they were gobbled up by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
I followed the recipe exactlly and they were way too sweet for us. I tried adding some sour cream and then some dry red wine and they still were not edible. I may try them again without using any sugar. The spice blend was good just overpoweringly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
This is great recipe - it is very time consuming but I only make it once a year, for Christmas Eve. Actually, I make them ahead of time - the meatballs freeze beautifully. Then I just have to brown them and make the sauce. My mother's family is Scandinavian and they always cooked with these spices. I do think the sugar quantity is a misprint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
The sauce was too sweet and the recipe is very time consuming. My family didn't like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States