Swedish Cardamom Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
Was a big hit with the family. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Arizona City, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
These are really good. I omitted the MSG and substituted homo milk for heavy cream. I used lean ground beef and fried them without butter. These changes made the dish healthier and from family reviews, they loved it! The flavour of this dish was superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2004
My hubby and I loved this! I took the advice of an early post and cut back on the sugar and also left out the MSG, but otherwise stuck closely to the original recipe. My kids preferred the meatballs w/o the sauce. Not everyone will like the spices in the sauce. I served over rice and this made a lot. I saved about half the meatballs to freeze for another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
I've made this about 4 times now and has become a tradition at Christmas as we serve mostly Swedish dishes. Time consuming, but worth it. It's nice to see a traditional Swedish dish made with traditional Swedish spices. Serve this with lingenberries to enhance the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
did not like recipe at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
This is very authentic. Better than my own recipe. Anyone that doesn't like this recipes doesn't like real Swedish food. I'm shocked that this doesn't have 1000 positive comments. You don't need msg and I use butter crackers instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
There is no question in my mind that 1/2 cup sugar is a typo error,try 1T or less. I used only 1/2 cup butter in the total recipe and used 2 cans evaporated skim milk instead of cream. Also, added mushrooms.I personally loved the blend of spices in this recipe. Do make this if you do not have time for kitchen clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
OK, this one is a ton of work-took me a couple hours to get everything together, but it was so rich and satisying, it was worth it! The sauce was awesome over hot cooked egg noodles, plus it made a lot so we ate this for a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
This is great recipe - it is very time consuming but I only make it once a year, for Christmas Eve. Actually, I make them ahead of time - the meatballs freeze beautifully. Then I just have to brown them and make the sauce. My mother's family is Scandinavian and they always cooked with these spices. I do think the sugar quantity is a misprint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
This was the best swedish meatball recipe I've ever made. I made them vegetarian using soy crumble, and it worked out fabulously. I followed the reccomendation to only use 1 T. sugar, and that seemed perfect as well. It was a considerable amount of work, but well worth the effort. I will definetely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States