Swedish Cardamom Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
These are really good. I omitted the MSG and substituted homo milk for heavy cream. I used lean ground beef and fried them without butter. These changes made the dish healthier and from family reviews, they loved it! The flavour of this dish was superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
This is great recipe - it is very time consuming but I only make it once a year, for Christmas Eve. Actually, I make them ahead of time - the meatballs freeze beautifully. Then I just have to brown them and make the sauce. My mother's family is Scandinavian and they always cooked with these spices. I do think the sugar quantity is a misprint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
I've made this about 4 times now and has become a tradition at Christmas as we serve mostly Swedish dishes. Time consuming, but worth it. It's nice to see a traditional Swedish dish made with traditional Swedish spices. Serve this with lingenberries to enhance the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
There is no question in my mind that 1/2 cup sugar is a typo error,try 1T or less. I used only 1/2 cup butter in the total recipe and used 2 cans evaporated skim milk instead of cream. Also, added mushrooms.I personally loved the blend of spices in this recipe. Do make this if you do not have time for kitchen clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
MSG??? Both parents born in Sweden and Mom never put onions in anything she called Swedish. American (yeah I'm one too) are onion crazy. At least this one's got the cardamom in it. For me - No onions, no mushrooms, no green peppers either.  No thanks but if you prefer go for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
Meatballs are WONDERFUL!!! The sauce, however, is a bit sweet to our tastes. I'd cut the sugar down in half, even by 2/3. Otherwise, I received many compliments when I served them as an appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
OK, this one is a ton of work-took me a couple hours to get everything together, but it was so rich and satisying, it was worth it! The sauce was awesome over hot cooked egg noodles, plus it made a lot so we ate this for a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
Very good, but if using fresh ground cardamon, cut it in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2004
My hubby and I loved this! I took the advice of an early post and cut back on the sugar and also left out the MSG, but otherwise stuck closely to the original recipe. My kids preferred the meatballs w/o the sauce. Not everyone will like the spices in the sauce. I served over rice and this made a lot. I saved about half the meatballs to freeze for another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
The sauce was too sweet and the recipe is very time consuming. My family didn't like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States