Swedish Cardamom Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
These are really good. I omitted the MSG and substituted homo milk for heavy cream. I used lean ground beef and fried them without butter. These changes made the dish healthier and from family reviews, they loved it! The flavour of this dish was superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
I've made this about 4 times now and has become a tradition at Christmas as we serve mostly Swedish dishes. Time consuming, but worth it. It's nice to see a traditional Swedish dish made with traditional Swedish spices. Serve this with lingenberries to enhance the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
Meatballs are WONDERFUL!!! The sauce, however, is a bit sweet to our tastes. I'd cut the sugar down in half, even by 2/3. Otherwise, I received many compliments when I served them as an appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2004
My hubby and I loved this! I took the advice of an early post and cut back on the sugar and also left out the MSG, but otherwise stuck closely to the original recipe. My kids preferred the meatballs w/o the sauce. Not everyone will like the spices in the sauce. I served over rice and this made a lot. I saved about half the meatballs to freeze for another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
There is no question in my mind that 1/2 cup sugar is a typo error,try 1T or less. I used only 1/2 cup butter in the total recipe and used 2 cans evaporated skim milk instead of cream. Also, added mushrooms.I personally loved the blend of spices in this recipe. Do make this if you do not have time for kitchen clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
Very good, but if using fresh ground cardamon, cut it in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
This was way too sweet for me. All I could taste was the sugar. A lot of effort for a very O.K. outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
The spices were very different - too strong and different for my family. I thought it was OK but my family hated it. We gave it to the dogs. The recipe would be very good with fewer, more traditional spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
OK, this one is a ton of work-took me a couple hours to get everything together, but it was so rich and satisying, it was worth it! The sauce was awesome over hot cooked egg noodles, plus it made a lot so we ate this for a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
This was the best swedish meatball recipe I've ever made. I made them vegetarian using soy crumble, and it worked out fabulously. I followed the reccomendation to only use 1 T. sugar, and that seemed perfect as well. It was a considerable amount of work, but well worth the effort. I will definetely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States