Swedish Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2003
SO GOOD! This was very very delicious. The apples were very tender underneath, and the crust on top was delicious and chewy. Some changes that I made and found effective: for sprinkle mixture used brwn sugar instead of white, used about 2x cinnamon, and added 1/4 tsp cornstarch to make sure the apples juices congeled. I also zested about 1/4 lemon over the apples and squeeze about 1/4 lemon of juice over them. For the topping, I used 1/2 cup white sugar and a half cup unpacked brown sugar. THIS MADE IT VERY Excellent. The crust came to a dark golden brown and was so yummy. I will definitly make this soon again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
Excellent and Easy!!! After reading some of the reviews I made the following changes: 1/2c white and 1/2c brown sugar (unpacked), 1/2c butter, omitted nuts and added 1/4tsp corn starch and 1/4 tsp. lemon juice to apple mixture also used brown sugar instead of white in apple mixture. Watch the bake time...mine took only about 55 minutes. TASTY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This was a very good recipe. I was looking for something to bring to my Danish mother-in-laws house that my Swedish mother would be proud of. This did need modifications: I sliced 5 apples (1/2 fuji, 1/2 granny smith). Only used the 2.5 cups the recipe called for but wish I had used all 5 apples. I used real butter, a pinch of cardamom, 1/2c brown sugar Splenda and 1/2c white sugar and the pecans. Also used 1/2 white and 1/2 wheat flour. Sprinkled 1/4 tsp lemon juice and cornstarch over the apple/cinammon/sugar mix. I believe I overbaked it because it ended up with a cookie/brownie consistency, but was still delish with vanilla ice cream. Next time I will use more apples, decrease the baking time and the amount of sugar and butter. The butter would probably be better if not fully melted. This recipe can be made in a deep dish pie plate or a spring-form pan. Looking forward to making this again & again with 5-star results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMASPICE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2002
This is more like a cake then a pie. I doubled the recipe and baked it in a 9 X 13 pan. It tastes better the next day. All in all, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2004
Great w/a few changes: Reduced sugar to 3/4 c., and used 1/2 c. marg or butter. Subs. walnuts instead of pecans. Great with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: San Mateo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2001
If you never make another pie, this is the one to make. I've attempted pies before, without much success. I couldn't believe I made this one and it was GREAT and easy!!! I could make and eat this one every other day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Even with extra apples, this was much too sweet. I wish I'd read some of the reviews about reducing the sugar. Other than the sweetness, this was just okay. Sorry, I don't think I'll be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2003
Very quick and easy to make. I made the basic "as is" recipe and also made it with Rose's recommendations. Hands down Rose's version was better. I also would like to recommend doubling the amount of apples(sugar and cinnimon accordingly).I thought the original recipe tasted more like an apple brownie---what ever that is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2001
I tested this recipe out for an upcoming Swedish family reunion and it was fabulous!! I have seen this recipe in several Swedish recipe books but had never tried it until now. The only thing I would change, since I made everything in the food processor, would be to sprinkle the pecans on top of the apples before putting the topping on (otherwise you have pecan dust!). The best apple pie I have tasted! Tack, Sonja!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
This is excellent but it isn't 'real' apple pie. More like a coffee cake. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States