Swedish Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2003
Very quick and easy to make. I made the basic "as is" recipe and also made it with Rose's recommendations. Hands down Rose's version was better. I also would like to recommend doubling the amount of apples(sugar and cinnimon accordingly).I thought the original recipe tasted more like an apple brownie---what ever that is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2003
This was outstanding. I have already made this twice this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2003
SO GOOD! This was very very delicious. The apples were very tender underneath, and the crust on top was delicious and chewy. Some changes that I made and found effective: for sprinkle mixture used brwn sugar instead of white, used about 2x cinnamon, and added 1/4 tsp cornstarch to make sure the apples juices congeled. I also zested about 1/4 lemon over the apples and squeeze about 1/4 lemon of juice over them. For the topping, I used 1/2 cup white sugar and a half cup unpacked brown sugar. THIS MADE IT VERY Excellent. The crust came to a dark golden brown and was so yummy. I will definitly make this soon again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
This is my second apple pie I've ever made. I thought It was OK when I tasted the day I made, but I enjoyed it a lot better after two or three days since apple absorbed its juice. Now I LOVE this recipe! Oh, I used softened unsalted butter instead of melted margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
I was a little worried while making this, but it was a hit!! I accidentally used a frozen pie shell, misread directions, but that made it hold together. I added oats to the topping and sprinkled with brown sugar before baking. Definitely add the nuts!! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
Not what I had hoped for. It was easy to make but at least for my family a disappointing addition to Thanksgiving. We really like a good cinnamon taste which this lacked and the topping was not that great either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
I loved this recipe!! It wasn't too sweet. My husband said it was the best he's ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
loved this pie. it reminds me of a cobbler. i was leary when i dumped the batter on top of the apples, but man, it's sweet, cake-y and has a nice crunchy top. i omitted the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
This was a very easy recipe to make. I substituted almonds for the pecans and the crunch is a nice addition. This pie is cake-like since the topping sinks in and around the apples and bakes to a cake like consistency. It was easier to serve than a traditional apple pie, but not very juicy and I even put in extra apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
This was SOOOOOO easy and tasted great. Apple pie without the work and not as messy to eat. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States