Swedish Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2003
Very quick and easy to make. I made the basic "as is" recipe and also made it with Rose's recommendations. Hands down Rose's version was better. I also would like to recommend doubling the amount of apples(sugar and cinnimon accordingly).I thought the original recipe tasted more like an apple brownie---what ever that is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2003
This was outstanding. I have already made this twice this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2003
SO GOOD! This was very very delicious. The apples were very tender underneath, and the crust on top was delicious and chewy. Some changes that I made and found effective: for sprinkle mixture used brwn sugar instead of white, used about 2x cinnamon, and added 1/4 tsp cornstarch to make sure the apples juices congeled. I also zested about 1/4 lemon over the apples and squeeze about 1/4 lemon of juice over them. For the topping, I used 1/2 cup white sugar and a half cup unpacked brown sugar. THIS MADE IT VERY Excellent. The crust came to a dark golden brown and was so yummy. I will definitly make this soon again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
This is my second apple pie I've ever made. I thought It was OK when I tasted the day I made, but I enjoyed it a lot better after two or three days since apple absorbed its juice. Now I LOVE this recipe! Oh, I used softened unsalted butter instead of melted margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
I was a little worried while making this, but it was a hit!! I accidentally used a frozen pie shell, misread directions, but that made it hold together. I added oats to the topping and sprinkled with brown sugar before baking. Definitely add the nuts!! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
Not what I had hoped for. It was easy to make but at least for my family a disappointing addition to Thanksgiving. We really like a good cinnamon taste which this lacked and the topping was not that great either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
I loved this recipe!! It wasn't too sweet. My husband said it was the best he's ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
loved this pie. it reminds me of a cobbler. i was leary when i dumped the batter on top of the apples, but man, it's sweet, cake-y and has a nice crunchy top. i omitted the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
This was a very easy recipe to make. I substituted almonds for the pecans and the crunch is a nice addition. This pie is cake-like since the topping sinks in and around the apples and bakes to a cake like consistency. It was easier to serve than a traditional apple pie, but not very juicy and I even put in extra apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
This was SOOOOOO easy and tasted great. Apple pie without the work and not as messy to eat. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States